#19 Building a poem around thoughts

One recovering from surgery 

One lost in thoughts of changing work

One just watching – not sure what to think IMG_7883.jpeg

Three sitting in the living room

 

Talking around with words and a topic

We don’t want think about 

It all feels dark and strange

Like the clouds outside 

 

Yet comfort was found among us 

In connecting for just a bit 

 Person to person conversation

About anything but the news

 

It was a grey day that was chilly and damp with the threat of rain or snow. We headed over to pick up my brother in-law who is recovering from brain surgery. They removed a tumor last week. He was going stir crazy in his small apartment. So we gathered him up and brought him to our house for a few hours. We talked and read. It was quiet and a bit tense afternoon. There was so much unsaid as we danced around the topic of health and the current fears in society.

I searched for joy at least in my heart. Looking for words of joy and light. It is so easy with all the stress to continue the talk of negative issues and fear. It was hard work to stay more positive and grateful. It is the work I need and want to do. I looked to spring – the tulips, the birds, and old oak leaves being pushed off the tree twigs as the new buds form and grow. The rain that is waking up the spring plants.

It was not an easy afternoon but as we dropped him back home and headed for a walk along the river parkway. I was so glad we had gathering, chatted and spent just a small time together.

There is comfort in face to face if one can find a safe small group to chat with. (Maybe even just a FaceTime chat would help.)

______________________________________

P.S. About the poem

I am not a poet and I tend to put to many words in my writing – always. So the poem was written and I worked on removing words. I decided to leave it the way it is -crossed out. I kind of liked it. I am not sure why. I guess it shows my thinking and my work at crossing out the negative.

* Seeking the positive!

IMG_7899.jpeg

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #19 Building a poem around thoughts

  1. jennieb says:

    I’m glad you shared the version with the words crossed out and shared your thinking/purpose. I think revised poem is great, but I love the crosses out lines visible. Like you, I can’t exactly put why it into words, but I like it!

  2. dearobb says:

    Thanks for writing. I like the poem, with the crossed out. I think it would be a good exercise for students. On the writing too much, a colleague of mine once said “we all love each word we write way more than a reader will” I’ve thought of that often when writing. Peter Johnston wrote a book called “Choice Words” about using exactly the word you need, not want.

  3. Ramona says:

    I’m constantly revising my posts and asking myself why do I include so much detail. I think your poem would be fun to share with students to show that poetry can be minimalist, the few words said the better. But like others, I enjoyed seeing what you crossed out and knew that you were trying to stay positive. My favorite phrase: “Comfort was found in connecting.”

Leave a comment