It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

IMWAYRThis week I was doing research for my own writing when I came across a picture book that would be perfect when talking about writing small moments.  Georgia In Hawaii – When Georgia O’Keeffe Painted what she Pleased by Amy Novesky would make a great mentor text.

It tells the story of Georgia O’Keeffe taking a trip to Hawaii to paint pineapples for the Pineapple company to help promote their juice. Georgia was excited but she wanted to be in the fields with the workers, to live close by so she could study the fruit. The company would have none of it and presented her with one pineapple to paint from. She was not going to let any one tell her what to paint and so the journey begins. imgres

As a teacher this book is so rich

  • It has bold, strong illustrations – that show mood and tone
  • It works well as a mentor text for writing about a short  time – her trip to Hawaii – not her whole life
  • It provides for a good conversation on compromise and solving a problem
  • It could fit into a research project for a student – it has biographically correct information about Georgia O’Keefe.

It is not a book I would have come across if I were not out researching – I am so glad I did!   It is a hidden gem!

imgres-2I also read The Mark of the Dragonfly by  Jaleigh Johnson which will be released on March 25. It fits into the steam- punk fantasy genre. It has a futuristic setting where steam engines and old world machines are used in new ways.

We follow 13 year old Piper as she strives to save a young girl found in the meteorite field. This is a journey of self discovery, learning about true friends and what makes a family. It does provide us with great adventures, thrills and chills as we meet a cast of character who can morph into flying animals, one with a mechanical arm and others with the powers to see your destiny.

Johnson creates a rich and detailed world in which you come to love this group of supposed misfits. Their true beauty and skills shine through as you become attached to this group. It was hard to finish the book since I hated to leave these new found friends. This story is ripe for a sequel – lets hope there is one in the works.

Check it out when it hits to book stores later this month!

This Week’s read:

  • A Half a Chance
  • Zane and the Hurricane 
  • The Garden of My Imaan

Happy Reading!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review, genres in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

  1. Crystal says:

    I haven’t read the Georgia O’Keefe book yet, but it has caught my eye in the past. I will have to move it to my TBR pile. Thanks for the great review. The stem punk sounds fun too. I really liked The Garden of My Imaan. I hope you have a great week of reading.

  2. Myra GB says:

    I think I’ve been meaning to find this Georgia O’Keefe book, but haven’t seen it in our libraries yet. I am pretty sure I’d fall in love with it. Thanks for sharing this one and reminding me about that search.

Leave a Reply

