Monday Real Writing (March Post #3)

Slice of Life logo

It is Monday. I am retired and I am finally not teaching in someone else’s classroom.

I now must face my own demons and begin to write. I love writing these quick posts. I love writing about my classroom or someone else’s classroom. Real events and experiences are easy to place on the page before me.

But I have stories that are also rattling around in my head. I get them started and then I get stuck. I have always been able to say it is my busy teaching schedule that has kept me from really working on this “real” writing.  Now-that is not true. I have worked hard to push that busy schedule aside and open up time and space for words.

The holy void – as my husband calls it. The stepping off into the unknown. Today I take that step. I am putting my seat on the chair and writing. I am not doing laundry, making bread or shoveling more snow. Writing comes first.

I realize so clearly as a writer I need to push past that fear of “I have no story to tell” or the “what if my characters won’t talk to me”.  I hid in all the how to writing books I could find over the last few weeks as I finished up a few teaching jobs here and there.  They all came down to one big statement.

Just write!  Sit down and write!

Wish me luck – I really want to finish the story that I began some time ago!

I am off to do “real” writing!

( Yes, I know all writing is real writing – but for me this step into fiction is big. It is for me the real writing I have been wanting to do for so long.)

search

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in research, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Monday Real Writing (March Post #3)

  1. Amanda says:

    You’re far from alone in this procrastination to jump into “real” writing. So often I read the work of others and that only fuels that fire of “I’m not good enough.” But knowing that just getting pen to paper, or finger to keyboard is the first time means you’re off to a great start!

    Keep up the good {hard} work and write, write, write!! All best!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    So glad that you are here and pushing yourself to write. It’s not easy – but so rewarding1

  3. Thanks – working on it!

  4. Nf says:

    The ever elusive time … All of the things we dream up when our schedules are full, our minds occupied. Have the time, the space, the freedom can be daunting, overwhelming, even scary at times… I like your husbands referral to the holy void. I too find “real writing” scary – blogs are quick and easy, but perhaps a bigger project also exposes us writers, a role I don’t always feel worthy of. Here’s hoping you took the time to write today and perhaps even you’ll consider sharing … Take care!

  5. arjeha says:

    I wish you luck in your endeavor. It is easy to find excuses not to do something. I know because I do it all the time. I am sure you will succeed.

  6. Sending you positive writing energy! A great adventure is ahead of you.

  7. Maria says:

    I am so happy to hear that you are writing! I will always remember the novels you read to us over lunch. Do you remember when everyone chose to hear the end of ‘James and the Giant Peach’ over recess? I should not be surprised to learn you have your own stories waiting to get out. Wishing you the best!

Leave a comment