We are here but

sols_6Tomorrow I will return to a quiet classroom to fill out grades, clean up from a whirlwind 3rd quarter and begin to set the stage for the 4th and final quarter of the year.  The students tumbled out of school this afternoon wild eyed and crazy.  It was the warmest day we have had this year (all of 45 degrees), the sun was shining and they were all set to fly.

 

Many had plans to see family – spend time with grandparents and to take short trips around our city to see friends or other family members.   Then there were the few who were angry for the last few days.  They were either fighting with someone or sitting off alone sulking.  Those are the student you know are worried.   They are not sure what they will be eating for the next 10 days (at school they get breakfast, a mid morning healthy snack and lunch).   They are wondering about safety during the day.  They know they are safe at school even when they don’t want to learn.

These are the students that we try to put the left over morning snack in their backpack.  They are the ones you make sure have an extra book to read over break and share how going off alone in the house to read is a great thing to do.  (both because it is fun and also  safe to be out of other people way).

These breaks are so important for us as teachers to rest and rejuvenate.   I am not sure how I could keep going.  I need this time just to stop, rest and think but the other side of me is worried.   What will be going on for some of my students?   Will they have enough to eat?   Will they be safe?   Most of them yes the home life is not great but they will be fine and people do care.

There are just that few that I always wonder about!    I will be glad to see them safe and sound on April 8th.   I hope they will be rested and well feed – I can dream can’t I.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We are here but

  1. MaryHelen says:

    Today I noticed certain children acting differently. My thoughts wondered about them as you have shared. Thank you for caring. I hope you will be refreshed with your break.

  2. Wilcox Carol says:

    So many of the kids I have taught have these issues too. School is their place of safety and security, it’s also where they get fed. And when I’m on break, I think about them every day, wondering how they are doing, what they are eating, etc. Hope you have a restful break!

Leave a comment