Quiet and Reflective – leads to more writing

sols_6Today was the first day of spring break for our students.   As teachers we were at school placing grades in the system, organizing for the next round of state tests – science is now down and we are on to reading and math.

It was good to just sit in my room – no sound of students, no meetings to run off to  ( well that is not true – I just did not go to them today – I played hooky and stayed in my room), just quiet with time to think.   This does not happen very often, certainly not during the school day and most nights there is an after school program in my room so it is not quiet then either.

I appreciate the time to just look around and think about what has worked this year and what really should be changed.   I made a few room arrangements, some books that never got put away in the fall that are now on the shelves and I found a set of books on writing that will be a great follow up to our month of Slice of Life.  We can end our writing by reading about riders and different types of journaling.

It is part of a series named I Openers from Celebration Press ( Person Learning Group).  It is called  Write It Down!   It is a basic book that describes different types of journals.

  • Historic journals – first hand accounts 
  • Personal journals – developing ideas ( Thoreau), coping ( Zlata’s Diary)
  • Travel journals – new experiences
  • Creating your own

What fun to explore my own room and find new books to support our writing with a bit of reading.   I am excited to have my students brainstorm types of journal writing.  See what a bit of quiet does.  New books and new ideas.

Can you name other types of journals I can share with my students?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet and Reflective – leads to more writing

  1. What a great idea! I am going to try it!

  2. Carol says:

    What about science type journals? There is one I have at school (and I wish I could remember the name of it). It’s two scientists who observed penguins in the arctic. They did journal entries and drawings every day or two. Can’t remember the name of it. I think Ted and Betsy Lewin have some like this too.

    • Very cool I will try to look this one up. Science journals are great. It should be fun to see how many different kinds of journals we can name and see how they are the same and different. Thanks

  3. mayawoodall says:

    Love the journal ideas!

Leave a Reply

