Location, Location, Location

sols_6As a beginning writer I use to think writers who had funny little habits were nuts.   They talked about the right pen or the correct notebook to write in.  Don’t get me wrong I am an office supply nut like so many writers.  I have my favorite notebooks for note taking at meetings, and for school ideas and creative ideas.  The habit that I found odd was the one of place.

I have read so many writers books on writing and often I have found the line -have a set time and place to go to when you are writing.   The Writers Way talks about morning papers – get up, find your spot and write first thing in the morning.  So many encourage writers to have a writing routine.  Find that same time and place and your ideas will find you.

Well, this year I seem to have join the crowd of writers with a special place to write.   I can be all over the house unsure what to write or say.  I walk around,  scan web sites,  try new places and feel lost – unsure what to write.  Then I finally take my computer, curl up on my side of the bed frustrated.  I open up my blog site and within a few minutes have several thoughts about what I might like to try writing about.   I think it is odd but I am not complaining.

It appears I have built a writing habit, a routine that works for me.   I have a place where I can find ideas, a place that helps me focus my thinking and lets me write.

Do you have a writing location?  A writing habit that works for you?  Have you helped your students build a writing location to help them build their writing skills?

I would love to hear what other writers do and think about writing routines.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Location, Location, Location

  1. Lauren says:

    I’m like you. I write in my bed- door closed, world shut out. I think and ponder and make lists of ideas in my head. Often, I sit down with an idea, and a totally different post comes about. That happened to me tongight. I am not sure how it happens, but I am glad it does. I never really thought about a writing location, but I guess I already have one!

  2. jhaworthoy says:

    I have found that I can do my writing on my computer in my office…or on my laptop while sitting on the couch. If I am on the couch I have to be careful becaue my cat will want to sit on my lap…and the rhythm of my typing sometimes causes her to have a seizure. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. I love to write and can write anywhere. I notice some students are like that as well. The stories flow so easily. You are right. Most need a writing habit and a safe, comfortable spot to write!!

  4. MandyB says:

    Interesting thinking about writing habits!

  5. Wilcox Carol says:

    Hmmm. I never write in bed, always sitting up, either on the end of the couch in the living room, or on the end of the couch in the dining room. I really like morning writing the best, and I only write at night when I have to. Usually, if I do write something at night, I have to revise it the next morning. I like QUIET when I write- no music or tv or talking. And I need something to drink, usually either coffee or diet coke.

Leave a Reply

