#17 Taking Time to Follow the Season

IMG_7549The book club meeting for Wednesday is now cancelled – all thought it best. The quilting time with a friend has been cancelled since they are staying in the north woods at a cabin – they hope out of harms way protecting an elderly mother. The Saturday neighborhood happy hour is now cancelled – all disappointed but understand. “Little Man” will not be here everyday – all day now that his parents are working from home. The hours are opening up before me a few more each day.

I have lots of projects undone and books to read, or movies I might watch so I can easily use the time. But while reading blogs and facebook post I came across Tovah Martin’s comment:

“I’ve got an idea. Since we’re all staying closer to home and craving live entertainment: Let’s trace spring’s progress one sprig and flower at a time. So we’ll watch a live performance of my latest book, The Garden in Every Sense & Season. But the really fun part is that you can all join in throughout the country.”

I have always meant to do this. I have written about and journaled about tracking the seasons. I have a nature journal started and sitting quietly on the shelf waiting to be used. I have several nature books and garden books that follow the seasons. I have always loved this idea but have never made the time for it to happen.

Why did I not think about it?  Now is the prefect time!

So today I start or began again a little project. I am headed out to walk through my yard in the crisp early spring air and look – look closely at what is there so that I can begin to see the changes. I am guessing this is best done every few days since things can move slowly in our still frozen world. Although, I think I might be surprise.

I am pulling out my nature journal to date, record and maybe ever draw what I see. I will take a few pictures to add to the recorded data. Maybe add in a walk around the neighborhood to see what is happening in others gardens or in the tiny woods down by the small lake a few blocks away. I could watch as the ice moves off the lake.

Time to follow springs progress one twig and flower at a time.

A quick review of spring on March 17th here in my yard in Minnesota:

  • There are snowdrops and Aconite blooming
  • Buds on the Maple tree are full and falling all over the yard (Squirrels are eating and breaking them off, I think)
  • Tulips have sprouted in abundance – a few inches high
  • Daffodils are also up and growing
  • Strawberry leaves lie quiet in the frost
  • Coral Bell leave from the fall are slowly waking in the mid morning sun
  • The majority of the garden is still a sleep under winter moldy leaves
  • The grass is still brown and matted from the snow cover
  • The birds are enjoying the warmth of the sun even though the air temperature is at 35 degrees and it feels more like 26 degrees.

It is Spring!

(Sorry the lilac bud is way out of focus I needed my camera today not my phone)

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #17 Taking Time to Follow the Season

  1. arjeha says:

    This is a great idea. I have been watching the progress of our pussy will and daffodils, but I have not recorded anything.

  2. dandre3 says:

    Centering ourselves on the wonders of the seasons seems like a perfect plan. Thanks for sharing.

  3. RiverBrown says:

    I find it very peaceful and gratifying to read lists of what is blooming in your area. My yard, even a dose of weeding this morning, are a gift to me. And the seasons are like stories…good luck with your project.

Leave a comment