Day 29: Brother and Sister

IMG_0159.jpg

Today late in the afternoon I come home to find my son sitting with his phone face timing with his older sister. My heart melted to watch and listen to the two of them checking in.

Now I know that might not seem like a big deal but here is the story. Pete, the younger moved to Chicago in December with his partner. They moved because she had found a better job. They moved because he had sold off his food truck and was ready for a new start. We waved them a sad good bye but realized Chicago is not that far away.

Now four months later – the two of them are on to a new adventure. The job in Chicago was a great pay raise but not a happy place. Pete did not find what he was looking for but a new opportunity has arisen.

They will spend a few months back in Minneapolis for training for his partner Madison. Then she will be placed in a New York office. Meanwhile Pete is in the running for a possible job in NY as well. So here they are returning home to live with us for a short time. I am beyond excited to have them here. Pete came today with the u-haul truck and their belongs. His partner will follow on Sunday by air.

Which leads us to this afternoon when Missy, his older sister called checking in on his drive and he is checking in on her and saying text me tomorrow. Please text me tomorrow lets get together.

So it is clear as parents we have done something right when your adult kids are comfortable staying with you for a little while but not to long. You know you have done something right when they are worried that they should move the u-haul truck to a better place while raiding your chocolate stash in the refrigerator. And you really know you have done a good job of parenting when siblings check in with each other when important things are happening in each others lives.

All I can do is smile, enjoy this short time he is here and know that my kids turned just fine! They care about each other!      I am in Mother love tonight!!!!!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 29: Brother and Sister

  1. mgminer says:

    This struck a very familiar feeling–I always hope that my kids will realize that their siblings are usually their longest relationships in life. I’m happy for you!

  2. Trina Haase says:

    Bravo!! What’s your secret for parenting??

  3. Stacey Taylor says:

    What a great moment to share! I hope my kids always want to talk to each other. I hope all goes well with your son’s move!

Leave a comment