Day Fifteen: Bloom Day

The middle of the month for many garden bloggers is Bloom day. (Hosted over at May Dreams Garden) It is a day when gardener writers stop and look over their land to see what is blooming. They take pictures and then “share” (read brag about) what is happening in their part of the country.

It is really great fun to check in on gardens from southern United States to those of us in the northland. You begin to understand the diversity of our country. The variety of landscape, temperature ranges and also the interests of gardeners.

This works just like the blog sites that share books they are reading or our Slice of Life posts – one person is the host and writes about the blooms in her yard. She then leaves a call for others to write on their blog – to share pictures, tell where you garden (growing zone) and share information about your plants. This is done the 15 of each month.

That is today – I usually forget about this day and miss the fun all together so I marked it on my calendar month hoping to not forget again.

Well, as you know I am in Minnesota – yes the land of snow. There is no bloom day this month out in my garden. There is not even grass.  Although I must say that although the middle of the front garden is 2 feet under snow the edge of the yard along the front sidewalk if you look closely you can see there is grass under there. It is still there waiting patiently for the snow to melt. It even looks green.

So I turned to what is blooming inside. My Christmas Cactus and my Thanksgiving cactus have both decided to put on a show. Even the small cactus plants around the house are all setting blooms. There is also the Orchid that is just sending out buds so I expect that will be the excitement for next month. Orchids seems to take their time when blooming.

So here are my photos for bloom day:  March 15, 2018 – Minneapolis, Minnesota – Zone 4b

CC money plant.JPG

 

Thanksgiving CactusJPG.JPG

Thanksgiving Cactus

Christmans cactus.JPG

     Christmas Cactus

 

Outside it looks like this: not quite spring yet!

sidwalk.JPG

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Bloom day, gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day Fifteen: Bloom Day

  1. Lea @ Lea's Menagerie says:

    Love those cacti!
    Happy Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day!

  2. Trina Haase says:

    I love the idea of Bloom Day! Your sidewalks look just like mine-edged in snow. We have less snow in SE WI than you do, so I am still eager to see the first blooms of spring!

  3. Bloom day. So many ideas.

  4. Ramona says:

    Wow! Your Christmas cactus is prolific. It’s fun to peek into your gardening posts – from your excitement over seeds to bloom day to the possibility of green grass under your snow.

  5. Rose says:

    Wow, what a gorgeous Christmas cactus! Seeing your outdoors photo makes me feel better about the weather here in Illinois–it may be chilly, but it seems more like spring than winter at least. Happy Bloom Day!

Leave a comment