Day Three: Lost in the wee hours of the night

While lying awake in the middle of the night I wrote a great blog post in my mind.  The idea came as I was waking at 4:15 am. I thought it through line by line. I knew I had it locked in my head so no need to rise and write it down.

This topic was important to me. I felt the heart of the piece beating as I thought it through. I was proud of my thinking and the building skills of being a writer. Yes, after all these years the words are flowing and growing. I can do this!

With that thought in my head I drifted off into the peaceful sleep of the early morning hours. It was the deep still sleep that brings rest and healing.

Now mid morning I sit down at my deck. The sun is shining, my computer ready to write and it is gone! I have no idea what that glorious blog post was about. No topic, words, phrases are there for me to share with you today. I am the writer with a blank page before me.

Yes, I have a notebook and pen by the bedside. My I-pad is there as well, with many ways to capture ideas but I was arrogant in those dark hours. I was cocky and so sure I knew what I was to write this morning.

I am humbled once again – words are elusive, and ideas are slippery. I will return to my notebook and pen as a holder of thoughts. I will remember that the words of the early morning are like the fall leaves blowing on a tree limb. They look so secure one moment then the wind grabs them and they are gone.

IMG_0733.jpg

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day Three: Lost in the wee hours of the night

  1. MNabors says:

    Oh wow! I love your leaf analogy! I do this all the time, and I completely understand sitting down to a blank screen with an empty mind! It is easy to be arrogant in the dark, but the morning light usually brings humility and a realization that we are human and forgetful! Thank you for sharing your honest struggle!

  2. dnapz says:

    Oh, the truth of this. I have a notebook as well, and yet I always think I have it down until I open my eyes.
    There is a great joke about this. A writer wakes up in the middle of the night with the great idea. It’s going to change the world. So she takes out her notebook and writes it down. In the morning, when she wakes up, she remembers and eagerly opens her notebook. It says, “I have a great idea; it’s going to change the world.”

  3. ureadiread says:

    And yet, the post you ended up with is a great one to share. Indeed, “words are elusive.”

Leave a comment