Slice of Life Challenge Day 20 – Coffee Shop Woes

The continued internet stories:

images-2Sunday opens with sun, cool weather and energy to get my work done. My husband I head out to a large coffee shop for our morning internet fix. (If you have not been following I am without service until at least Monday.) I have made my list of what needs to be done. I have all the necessary papers tucked into my backpack. He has his computer and coffee cup. We are ready for the day!

We arrive at our chosen shop to find it busy but there are tables that will hold our two computers and so we settle in. I buy my Chia tea and we both begin our work.

It takes only a few minutes before we both realize that this is not going to work. A table of five are not far away  – parents and three kids. There is a  daughter, her friend and a son controlling the conversation. They are full of life and and very expressive. In fact way beyond expressive! The whole coffee shop is in on the conversation – boys, flowers, prom and please don’t tell anyone. The parents are engaged and fully enjoying the chatter. It is a chance for them to see into the life of their children. As parents they are not aware that we as a community of coffee drinks are also seeing into the life of their children.

I am working hard to stay focused – to pull into myself. I put headphones on but they are small ear buds and do no good. As my tensions rise because I know how long my list is and it all needs the internet and I can’t focus there is a tap on my shoulder.

My husband, who was at another small table, just quietly says, “let’s move into the adult section.” I quickly gather my stuff, walk to the back of the shop, turn a corner and there sits a small table. It is surround by “older” folks chatting quietly and a small family with a very young child who is learning to talk about books. “ask Mommy to read a little bit – we call it previewing the book” The two year old smiles and tries to repeat the words. It is quiet, calm and my heart melts.

I can enjoy the quiet chatter of the little one, hear the light voices of other adults talking and sink into my work. Maybe the day is not lost to the energy of teenagers and loud voices.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slice of Life Challenge Day 20 – Coffee Shop Woes

  1. I’m so glad your husband found the “adult” section so that you could get going on your to do list.

  2. arjeha says:

    Glad you were able to find a quiet spot to work. Hopefully, soon you won’t need the coffee shop anymore although iit does lead to interesting posts.

  3. mbhmaine says:

    While not having internet is a challenge, I imagine you’re much more efficient because you have to be organized about your approach. A silver lining, I suppose. I’m glad you were able to find a quiet nook.

  4. emily1103 says:

    Oh, I know what it’s like when I need to get work done and a couple next to me decides to have an argument about their relationship at the table next to me! Yikes!!

  5. bevbaird says:

    How sweet that your hubby rescued you and you could finish what you needed to. Great description of the situation and coffee shop.

  6. MaryHill says:

    I love how husband looked out for you and you were able to find a quieter corner to get your work done. The bonus of hearing a child and mother read quietly make the time even more special. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment