Slice of Life Challenge Day 19 – Life without internet

Today is day three without internet at home. Who would have thought this would be a problem? It is chance to be off the grid for a few days even if it is a forced time away – it is time away. (our modem went down, a replacement came and it does not work – so Monday is the day for repair!)

Here is the issue

  • I was excited to read the garden book from the library but I can’t look up any of the flowers or bushes that were mentioned and the text doesn’t have many pictures. So I don’t really know what they are referring to most of the time.
  • I am reading another garden book on my kindle app with terms that are unfamiliar to me and keep tapping on the words to get definitions or to go to web sites only to find I can’t.
  • I headed out to a new garden center this morning but wanted to look up directions before I got on the road. No I couldn’t do that with out the internet.
  • There is work I need to do this weekend to set up the state tests for school. All that work is on the internet.
  • This was the weekend to update the family blog and send out the call for the newsletter but I do that all by e-mail and on the internet. Not happening.
  • And there is the Slice of Life Challenge with a daily post on the internet.

I didn’t realize how interwoven my life has become with my computer and the need for the internet. The world wide web is an amazing place where I indeed spend a lot of time.

So tonight after a wonderful evening with neighbors I headed out to a book store cafe with internet to get my daily fix and post my slice for the day!

Happy Internet Writing!

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice of Life Challenge Day 19 – Life without internet

  1. janefhelms says:

    It is amazing how quickly we become used to instant information, access, and availability. And then … poof. Glad you got to spend time with the neighbors and also time at the cafe, so you could share your slice with us!

  2. emily1103 says:

    I know what you mean! I consider myself to be pretty un-connected to technology for a Millenial…until I think about how many times I reference my smart phone for directions, reviews, when places are open, email…! Good job surviving with the “1980’s” life (haha!)

  3. ams4blog says:

    It’s scary how reliant the world has because. I think I’d be twitching after day 2 with no internet! Hang in there!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    How quickly our life changes without. I imagine I might do more “other” things if It weren’t for the net. Hope all is back soon, Joanne.

Leave a Reply

