SOL Challenge Day 17 – Swimming – Help

Breathing, Calm, Walking, Quite moments

This is have what I have been writing about this week. I have been quietly enjoying the days off and floating in the slowness of retirement.

Then the call came, a quick voice, a few words, today you need to come, I have made a tutorial for you, this is more confusing than I thought!

I was unable to shift quickly but I realized that it was testing she was talking about. We have just finished a round of testing for our English Language Learners. I will box that material up on Monday.

I was breathing, relaxing – but no more!

I am swimming in forms, new computer programs, IEP’s, small groups, training monitors, and setting up tests.

It is all about testing until we get through the spring round of State Test. We will get there. With each moment I can see through the murky waters, I understand a bit more and my breathing is easier.

By the time we start testing in April I will relax, smile and help students navigate these waters with ease because that is what our students need.

Calm, easy breathing, quiet moments and good cheer!

imgres-1

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOL Challenge Day 17 – Swimming – Help

  1. Tara Smith says:

    I am swimming with you, too – can’t wait until the end of testing season!

  2. arjeha says:

    I think you have hit the nail on the head by expressing how we all feel come testing time.

  3. mgminer says:

    I lost 6 weeks of instructional time due to testing schedules. Your school is so lucky that you are willing to come back and help! I like how you framed your piece with breathing, calm, quiet, and good cheer. We have to hang on to those practices!

Leave a comment