SOL Challenge Day 16 – Little Wonders

Take a big trip, travel, go places – this is the line I keep getting from friends. The idea of travel is great and indeed we will travel at some point but right now I am enjoying the little wonders.

 

Here are some of the little wonders of my world:

Being able to do laundry and having clean, fresh sheets on a Monday.

Talking a long walk, having lunch, talking writers, books read, politics and walking home in a light rain on a Tuesday.

Choosing a seat near a sunny window to read at 1:30 in the afternoon on a Wednesday.

Driving to the Mn. Landscape Arboretum to walk and use the botanical library for research on a Thursday.

Spending time in a classroom of 2nd graders binding books with yarn and beads on a Friday.

Planting seeds and watching things grow under the grow lights everyday till they can go outside in the garden!

There are so many little wonders I have not experienced in years that for now these little moments are all I need.

IMG_2608

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOL Challenge Day 16 – Little Wonders

  1. newtreemom says:

    Love the little wonders! Love that you still include students in your days sometimes. But I especially love how you take time to do what you enjoy and savor it.

  2. Wendy says:

    Makes me long for the future, when I too can do those things. I’ll just have to keep noticing the wonder in my busy mid-career, mid-child raising life.

  3. Ramona says:

    I love days like you describe until I sign up for four consecutive days of subbing! Then I remember my former life. My favorite wonder – choosing a seat near a sunny window to read mid-afternoon!

  4. marymary219 says:

    Little wonders . . . such a pleasure to read!

  5. Yup. We don’t pay attention to the small things enough. The best things are often free. Thanks for a nice read.

  6. arjeha says:

    So glad that you now have the time to enjoy the little wonders. There are so many of them out there.

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Little wonders which bring you big joys, Joanne!

Leave a Reply

