It’s Monday! What are you reading? historical fiction

This week I finished the Lie Tree which I have already written about. A book to find and read. I struggled at the beginning but by the end I was catch in the world of lies, misunderstanding and what women have done in the past to move forward with their lives in a world that only sees the value of men. A good read for many reasons. 23592175

I then moved on Hattie Big Sky! This was on twitter and so many blogs last spring and summer. It just kept falling to the bottom of my list of TBR’s. I was not totally sold on the story line and so put it off. I am not sure what drove me to it now but I am so glad I did. As a gardener waiting for spring I understood and was there helping Hattie along the imgresway. I was drawn to the role of a woman of 16 heading off on her own to make a life for herself. (Interesting these two books are dealing with the role of woman in a male society.)

What really stood out for me was the struggle of the west in the early 1900’s and the struggle that was made harder as people couldn’t support their neighbors because they were born in Germany. The effects of War and how people can’t see who is right there in front of them.

It felt all to familiar as our country moves toward an election cycle with so many of this countries people not being supported. The worry our children feel when their Mosque is broken into, when parents fear they many be deported and there is so much more. I see that fear and misunderstanding on the faces of children daily.

Hattie Big Sky would be a great read to share with a class of 5th through 8th graders. The discussion of how is this like what we see today could be very powerful. The question of how are things the same and how have them changed – would be perfect to begin the discussion. There is so much rich material in this story.

  • life as an orphan
  • a young woman making a life of her own
  • what is the role of women – are they homemakers only or can they create a life of their own – jobs, homes, own land
  • what do we do as individuals to support our country when we are at war
  • how do we treat people who come from different place and have different faiths and traditions
  • what creates friendship and family

If you missed reading Hattie Big Sky – check it out from the library. It is a quick read and good food for thought in this time of unrest within our own country.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review, historical fiction and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading? historical fiction

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I remember loving Hattie Big Sky, and love how you’ve made connections to today, Joanne. There is much hate speech happening that I don’t like at all, and am sad that some children are scared, probably parents, too. Thanks for sharing your ideas about this book.

  2. Hmmm. Kind of the same here with Hattie … heard great things but it has kept falling in the TBR pile. Spring break is coming up. Maybe I should bump it up!

  3. I hadn’t heard about Hattie before, but I’m very intrigued. I remember learning about those early farmsteads as a student and being so awed by determination and hard work and dreams of those pioneers. I’m saddened to still see so much mistrust and even hatred in our communities – in some ways the world has come so far, but we still have so much to learn.

  4. Akilah says:

    I am pretty sure Hattie is on my TBR as well. Great review. I’ll have to check it out soon.

Leave a Reply

