#SOLC – Day 1 – Beginning Again

IMG_1788I am surprised we are here again. The March Writing Challenge. This year of March to March has gone quickly. Last year I was recovering from a broken wrist, finally moving on from the loss of my mother and was ready to have spring arrive. We were sitting with lots of snow and temperatures were holding below zero with wind chills near -26.

This year the sun is shinning, the snow is almost gone and we are having balmy days of high 30’s to 50’s. I have been doing yoga (downward facing dog with my wrist) several times a week and the seeds have been started under the grown lights.

SONY DSC

It is amazing the difference time can make. I also need to remember that when I sit down to write. This first day of the challenge I am excited and ready to go. I am ready to spring forward to write and write.

I know that in a few weeks I will start to slow and drag a bit. We all do. We begin to lose the little moments in time that we want to write about. The days get busy and time gets short.

So I am working on remembering that time makes a difference. I am working on writing down little moments as they happen so I can come back to them on those slow days when I think – “WHY did I say I would do this again this year?!”

I am working on holding this excitement of sharing my writing with friends, of pushing myself to write daily, of remember that time does make a difference and we will all be amazed at the end of the month when we say – WE DID IT!

Happy writing friends! I look forward to reading your writing and sharing mine! 
Slice of Life logo

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #SOLC – Day 1 – Beginning Again

  1. Adrienne says:

    I work with gifted kids, who are always striving. I keep telling them “It’s a marathon, not a sprint”. I’m taking that advice for myself as we begin the 2016 SOLSC.

  2. Bonnie K. says:

    Funny that you share about your loss. I’m there too now- lost my husband 6 months ago. What a lot has changed since last March, since last August…
    So glad to be back on the challenge of March here.
    Bonnie K.

  3. Such good advice! I need to start collecting those ideas. I loved doing the challenge last year and I’m excited to be trying again!

  4. Joanne Toft says:

    Thanks – this year I am actually putting the little ideas in the blog format and saving it as a draft. Now I have about 5 little blogs started with a quote, a thought or an idea. I am hoping that kids starts my writing on a day I don’t know what to write. Have a great month writing!

  5. arjeha says:

    For me, the middle of March is when I usually hit a slump and wonder why did I agree to do this challenge again. Somehow, though, inspiration comes and I finish out the month. I like your idea of starting little blogs that can be expanded on a writer’s block day.

  6. Tara Smith says:

    I loved reading about your thought process – I think part of the joy of this Month is in figuring out way to be organized about our writing each day. You are off to a great start!

Leave a Reply

