Finding my way back

Slice of Life logoThe last month was crazy busy with work – I know I am retired but it does not seem to matter. The last time I wrote I talked about testing. It is what May was about. We are now in the last days of May and the summer is stretching before us in all its sunshine and glory.  ( just don’t look out my window it has been raining all day and the heat has come on twice – so much for sitting on the screen porch and writing in the glory of summer!)

It is however time to revisit goals, and make new plans to find my way back to writing and reading.

Goals: Remembering my OLW is balance 

  • stay off social media until I have written something each day- it is so easy to consume and so hard to create but create is what we carve! So why do we consume so much?
  • write daily – anything – just write – seat in chair, words on page!
  • reading daily – I am setting a goal for reading a number of books this summer instead of the Book A Day – I am reading so many chapter books it just isn’t going to happen as a book a day deal. I need to be realistic with goals. ( 12 chapter books – one each week – June through August – I think I can do this!)
  • create a picture book explore – I have been following Deborah Wiles – Picture Book Intensive WORK-ALONG May 25-27 (find her on Facebook). I really want to do what they are doing. Just can’t this week. So I will follow along and then create my own deep dive in a few weeks. Maybe I can find some local folks to join me.
  • The rest of my goals are for my garden and yard – a slow and steady make over as the sun shines and the weather warms. The key here is slow and steady remembering the OLW of balance.

Not bad – five goals for the summer.

What are your goals? reading, writing and fun in the summer sun!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reading, Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Finding my way back

  1. Dee says:

    Good luck with your goals! Mine is just to keep on writing.

  2. bevbaird says:

    I am still trying to find my balance since I retired. I too want to write more. The idea of doing the intensive later sounds a good one. Great goals – all the best for the summer.

  3. Good luck with your goals! I plan to read at least one professional book and as many chapter books as I can devour. I’m going to try to upload one video a week to my school website of me reading a book. This will be a first for me!

  4. Such a great reflection and revisit of your OLW! I think it is a great idea to aim for 12 chapter books this summer. I am in awe of people who can read a book a day (picture or otherwise). I may join you on this “Book a Week” goal. Best of luck!!

    Jennifer

  5. Adrienne says:

    I haven’t really made a lot of summer goals. We still have three weeks of school left and I found out last week that I am (finally) moving to middle school after trying for 2 years. A lot of my summer will be thinking about that shift.

  6. mrsclark6 says:

    I have writing and reading goals too- 1/2 hour for each. I’m getting better! I like your idea about not using social media til those are done. I think I’ll add that to my list.

Leave a comment