Less is more

– growing more by sowing less –Slice of Life logo

It was a glorious day – sunny, temperature about 70 with a light breeze. It was just a tad cool in the shade if you were quiet and reading. I was pulling, digging and sorting plants. It was not so cool in the garden but just right. I have taken on a redo in my yard. This is the year of the expanded veggie garden, adding new herbs and perennials, clearing the back hill of weeds and re planting…

As you can see the list goes on and I was completely exhausted but the time I dragged myself to the shower and dinner. It was a good exhaustion and I was happy with what I had done but – there is always a but isn’t there.

I sat down to read my new Garden Illustrated Magazine – oh the lovely English gardens so much to do if my garden is ever going to even begin to look like one of those. (Don’t worry it never will since I own a small lot in the middle of a city but you get the idea.)  It seems there is always more to add and do. I began a list of other flowers or bushes I could add. My mind was clicking again at all I could do and then read this one little line.

Growing more by sowing less –

They were talking about spring lettuce and radishes and spinach. The idea of planting just a small amount every two weeks. It means you end up with your spring veggies lasting a bit longer. This year I planted everything at once -excited to have fresh lettuce, spinach and radishes. I have them but so much we can’t get through it fast enough. If I had planted less but more often the veggies would be ready to harvest over many weeks not all on the same day.

This simple little discussion with myself about the garden and sowing less made me think about my writing as well. The idea of sowing less for more works here as well. Instead of the sit down to write in big chunks I need to be writing a little bit each day. So many writers know this well. They write 500 words a day, or two pages a day or two hours a day. They each have found what works for them but many of them seem to follow the less is more idea.

I tend to be a go after it kind of gal and then exhaust myself and walk away from the project for weeks at a time. It just doesn’t work well that way.

So here is to a summer goal – of less is more

  • in the garden
  • when writing
  • when reading – I have four books I am reading – not really following any of them well

Oh right!         Less is more!

Early Spring Garden

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens, Reading, Reflection, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Less is more

  1. Maria says:

    I’m a gardener and sometimes a writer. Your analogy and connections are true for me too. Thanks for slicing today.

  2. mrsclark6 says:

    Great connection. I’m using the same analogy to get my house ready to sell. One small project a day 🙂

  3. glenda funk says:

    I had a conversation about teaching w/ a colleague/mentor of a similar nature yesterday. We talked about how kids can digest “40 things at once.” They can “grow more” when teachers “sow less.”

    Lovely analogy and garden.

  4. Lynn says:

    The light bulb went off while reading…I guess I should have thought the same thing… plant in stages to yield longer…great advice!

  5. That sounds like a perfect goal for us too! We will give it go! Your garden is beautiful.
    Clare and Tammy

  6. Ramona says:

    I love the view of your back yard. I’m definitely a reader, a sometimes writer, and a wanna be gardener. Your yard is inspiring and even though you didn’t plant in stages this year, you can always share your bounty with friends.

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Less is more …that’s a perfect mantra for the summer!

Leave a Reply

