#SOL2015 28/31 Let’s Get on With It!

I am sitting in a bright red room with book spines of every color surrounding me. The sun is sparkling in the side window and a bright solid blue sky peers in as I type. I had put on a favorite red turtleneck to brighten the day.

All this color and yet my eyes keep searching. I am anxious for what? What am I in need of?

It isn’t until I take the laundry down the basement and into the back room that the green of my small plants strike me. In all the color of my office and outside the missing color is green.

I need green grass, green bushes and green leaves on the trees.

Don’t get me wrong I love the shades of brown that come with fall. The tan of the yard as the grass dries, the dark chocolate brown of the soil and the silver brown of the tree trunks are great. I can even go for the tones of white when the snow flies. But…

It is now officially spring.

I officially have spring fever and I can’t wait any more. The snow needs to go and the temperature needs to rise so spring can get on with it.

I have plants to grow and weeds to pull and grass to mow. Let’s get on with it!

IMG_1815 IMG_1816

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #SOL2015 28/31 Let’s Get on With It!

  1. anita says:

    I love how you found a glimpse of spring. It is hard to do that this morning in NY as we have snow – heavy and steady – and the ground is white. Yet I remember, like you, that there is green underneath that will eventually prevail.

  2. arjeha says:

    Let’s hear it for spring green! It was snowing here when I got up. Not it is melted but cold. I could sure use a green infusion.

  3. Crystal says:

    I hear you! We still have a few patches of snow around and our grass is still brown. I am ready anytime for the real spring to stand up.

  4. Oh come wonderful green! This sounded like a song. I can’t wait…at least most of the snow is gone…again! xo nanc

  5. lynnjake says:

    Your sweet little baby plants look eager to be planted outside! I hope you can do that soon.

  6. elsie says:

    Green is the color missing, but I am starting to see glimpses of it as I drive down the street. Hope each day more and more appear.

Leave a comment