#SOL2015 10/31 – Sacred Time and Place

Slice of Life logo“It’s essential to have sacred time for writing. All successful authors have some daily commitment to keep on-track and moving forward.” –Dani Shapiro

This is the quote of the day at Two Writing Teachers -Slice of Life today. I have heard this over and over again. Writers have their special time.

For some it is the morning pages with coffee, others are the late night writers after the house has quieted down. Others are the coffee shop writers who have their special table to go with their coffee or tea.

As a young adult wishing and yearning to be a writer I thought of these times as wonderful and longed for them. I would find my special time and then I would be a writer.

Knowing I am not very good in the morning I quickly found the idea of morning pages was not going to work for me.

The late night writing still appeals to me but as I get older and older and older I am not the best thinker at that time of day.

The coffee shop writing is also interesting but I hate coffee, can’t see paying for tea and am highly distracted by all I see and hear around me.

So what kind of a writer am I and where is my scared place and time. I couldn’t even figure out where to take a picture for the wonderful slides that were presented today.

Truth be told I am a roamer. The kid in your classroom that every time you turn around they are some place else. So where is my writing place and what time is scared for me.

Just about any time will work – it is more for me about when the thoughts strikes me I write. Yet there are days when I do sit down with no idea and think I can’t write and then write way to much.  (Like today)

The place just has to have light from a window – it can be moonlight or sunlight or light reflected off the gray clouds but light from the outside is a must. I am good at writing on the deck, the screen porch, by the window in my office, in the living room (since it is all windows) or outside.

I use a notebook, an i pad or a computer – whatever is easiest. I am not good with computers outside – I like walking in the swamp to much and it is just to wet I am told.

So after all these words I find that what is scared for me is to write daily. I need to write something/anything everyday.

imgres

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #SOL2015 10/31 – Sacred Time and Place

  1. It sounds like outside in nature might be your place! I agree that quiet is essential! I could never write in a coffee shop! Thank you for sharing.

  2. This is lovely – and especially beautiful how you give this “condition” a name – a roamer. I will keep your words in my head as I work with some roaming students I know!

  3. bayouwarrior says:

    You are very lucky to be able to think in different places!

Leave a comment