#SOL2015 9/31 Reading Widely


Slice of Life logoIt’s Monday! and it is the day I always post – It’s Monday! What are your reading? – It is the delight of my retirement – I am always reading. This week I didn’t think I could do both so this is not a book review but a review of books I am reading.IMWAYR

Many of the hours I spent creating lesson plans now go into reading. It is such a delight. My first year out I read mainly children’s books and still do. I am always studying how to write a great middle grade novel. (It is my excuse for why I check out and buy so many of them. To be honest it is really is pure love of middle grade novel. Just don’t tell my husband.)  But now I am in year two of retirement and the adults around me are pushing me into reading more widely.

I am in a book group for retired teachers – a group of us that worked at the district office around the same time. We just finished reading Miss Hazel and the Rosa Parks League by Jonathan O’Dell.  Our next book is Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger. Then there is a pick up book group. This is just a one time event to visit another book group who is having Lorna Landvik come to the discuss her books. For that we are reading Best to Laugh. All of these books are Minnesota authors which is fun and happened just by accident.

Then there is the children’s book group called Chapter and Verse gr_chapter-and-verse-book-club-what-900pxrun by Vicki and Steve Palmquist. They have a few of these across the country in books stores. We are reading the same books and notes are shared. How glorious to be reading with folks around the country. This month the theme is dance and we are reading – A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman and José: Born to Dance by Susannah Reich, illustrated by Raúl Colón. Peg Leg Bates is referred to in Padma’s book: so we will take a look at this one as well – Knockin’ on Wood: Starring Peg Leg Bates by Lynne Barason.

Ok, now we are down to the books I want to read on my own or that I have picked up from Net Galleys in a pre published form to read and review.

  • Listen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai
  • Dreamwalker (arc by Rhys Bowen and CM Broyles)
  • Black Dove White Raven (Arc by Elizabeth Wein)
  • H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald (adult read)
  • Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein
  • The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson (adult read)

I don’t even want to tell you what is sitting in my wish list for reading. It has gotten a bit out of hand. I also work hard to read as many new children’s books as I can so I am ready for the discussion on the possible award winners for each year.

Reading – what a joy!  Maybe this over indulgence in reading comes from those early years way back when I was in first grade and could not read. Maybe it comes from hearing the teachers in second grade and third grade saying she needs to go to summer school she just isn’t reading well.

But no, it really wasn’t until 5th grade that the world shifted when a librarian had faith in my reading ability and slid a copy of a newly released book into my hands and said I think you will like this and don’t listen to the teachers who tell you it is to hard for you. Just read it!  I did and have not stopped reading since.  That newly released book was A Wrinkle in Time.  

It’s Monday! What are you Reading?

and What is your Reading Story?

WrinkleInTimePBA1

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #SOL2015 9/31 Reading Widely

  1. Leigh Anne says:

    Hooray for that librarian!

  2. mgminer says:

    Thanks for the new titles! I can’t wait until summer for more reading time.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Your welcome! Summer is not to far away. Our schools still have spring break coming so a time for reading is just around the corner for some who are teaching here in Mpls., Mn.

  3. Maria says:

    What an impressive list Joanne! It is encouraging to know there can be more time to read later in life. The kids and I read A Wrinkle In Time together over winter break. It is one of my favorites. I’ve read it several times, but first picked it up when I was in your class ( I think maybe you had something to do with that). I just finished Counting by Sevens and am working on City of Thieves (for my adult book club). The kids and I just started The Penderwicks as an audio book earlier today.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Nice to hear from you Maria. I love that you have read A Wrinkle in Time with your kids. What did you think about Counting By Sevens? I have not read The Penderwicks so maybe that should go on my list as well.

  4. Ramona says:

    I’m supposed to read Divergent before Friday, I’ve started Code Name Verity, I’m surrounded by hundreds of unread books, and every day I read posts like yours that add to my lists of more books I want to read. Somehow, you’re finding a lot more time to read in retirement than I am. What’s your secret? So glad that librarian came into your life! Hopefully, I’ve helped a student and a friend or two discover the love of reading.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      No real secret. I just don’t watch TV and set aside time everyday. I am sure there are lots of students who can name books you have shared with them. Good Luck on getting Divergent finished by Friday.

Leave a Reply

