It’s Monday! What are you reading? mysteries

ZI have been reading and reading middle grade fiction for weeks, months and this week I stepped back to read some adult fiction. Except I keep wondering is the book I am reading adult fiction when the main character is 12! Ok she does not act like a 12 year old but she is 12.

If you like mysteries and haven’t read any of Flavia de Luce books by Alan Bradley I think you are missing some fun. Brandley has a new one coming out January 6th. I had the great fun of reading it this last week.

Bradley’s new books is As Chimney Sweepers Come to Dust: A Flavia de Luce Novel.  Our character is “banished” to Canada to finishing school but little schooling is going on. Flavia finds herself in the middle of what looks like an old murder and lots of missing girls.

This series of books is a great one for the debate about reading children’s books or adult books. I keep wondering which this is – the main character is 12, she is bright, a self taught chemist, loves poisons, and murders. She loves to learn, explore and problem solve. She is observant, quick and self assured. So why it it an adult book – I don’t really know.  Maybe vocabulary? – I have to admit I am not the best at pronouncing all the chemical names either.

All I know is if you like a good mystery, not a lot of blood, more intrigue, an old English flavor, and tea you might also like the Flavia De Luce Series.

There are now seven and a little 27 paper story called The Curious Case of the Copper Corpse: A Flavia de Luce Story. I missed a few in my reading so have good back to be sure I have read all of the series.  Great winter reading by the fire!  Enjoy

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

