It’s Monday! What are you reading?

IMWAYRWhat am I reading?  I have been pushing through new books and realized there are a ton of books hiding on my I pad that I need to get back to.  (We won’t even talk about my wish list at one on-line store. It has become my holding tank for books I want to read and it is a very large tank.)

Here is what I have read:

The Winter of the Robots by Kurtis Scaletta – what a great imgres-1read. It takes place here in Minneapolis so it had some added fun to it for me. It is always great when kids can connect to streets and parks they know. The plot is a bit far fetched but fun to think about how a group of kids could use their computer skills to outwit the robots of the future or past as these robots are. The relationships and family issues feel real and give room for students to reflect and talk about their own families and how they handle stressful situations. A fun read, especially if you like robots, computers and mysteries.

I have finished Flora and Ulysses by Kate DiCamillo.  I know everyone has loved it but for me it just didn’t make it. imgres-2 Sorry Kate, I want to go back to Because of Winn Dixie. Flora was funny and a bit odd.  I liked Ulysses but the story just didn’t hang together for me. Kate’s mixture of text and graphic novel was unique and fun to look at but that is all I can say. I would like to explore it with a group of 3rd or 4th graders to see what they really think about it.  For me it was just an ok read.

Currently Reading:

imgres-1Turn Left at the Cow by Lisa Bullard has me interested in how she is going to solve the mystery of a missing father, maybe dead, and possible bank robber.  This book is again a Minnesota writer and our story takes place in northern Minnesota in fish country. A young boy has run away from California to northern Minnesota to find out about his father. (I know why are you leaving California – but he has his reasons!)  He comes hoping to have questions answered but only finds more questions. I don’t have any answers yet but hope to solve the mystery later tonight.   I will keep you posted and no the book is not really about cows!

Waiting for me are the following books:

17378990Sometimes Never, Sometimes Always by Elissa Hoole

Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L Holmimgres-2

imgres-4First Light by Rebecca Stead

Ok – yes there are others on my list to read but I know I won’t get through them before next Monday so I will save them to share with you next week. Next week I also hope to include picture books to go with November picture book month. My class is doing a author study right now on Allen Say so will share their thoughts about Bicycle Man and Grandfather’s Journey next week as well.

Happy Reading!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. Linda Baie says:

    What a great group of books, & the MN ones are new to me, so thanks. Interesting to hear about Flora & Ulysses. A few others I’ve read have hinted that it wasn’t the best. I didn’t know until someone else mentioned about the graphic mix. I have the book, haven’t opened it yet. I just saw someone mention a new book by Allen Say-The Sign Painter, out tomorrow! And, I have that kind of wish list too-out of control!! Thanks!

  2. Myra GB says:

    Good to read a refreshingly-different viewabout Flora & Ulysses. I have to start reading Rebecca Stead’s novels and catch up! 🙂 Winter of the Robots also looks interesting. Have a great reading week!

Leave a Reply

