Lining up books

sols_6We have two days before spring break. The students and I are reading quickly to finish the books we have been working on.  The fourth graders finished The Summer of the Bone Pile Monster today and we are about 4 chapter away from finishing The One and Only Ivan.  The fifth graders are 3 chapter from the end of Woods Runner and 5 chapters away from finished Wonder.

Tomorrow will be our Search and Find day for new books.  We are planning to set up a reading challenge for over spring break.  I talked about how I would like to read one book each day – knowing I am a slow reader this is a bit of a challenge since I am not talking picture books.    My students were a bit taken a back that I might try to read a book a day.   We are on the stamina challenge – can you write longer / read longer.   I said I was working on building my stamina.

So here are a few of the books I have lined up:

  • Because of Mr. Terupt  ( I have just started this one) 
  • The Center of Everything
  • Alabama Moon
  • Eye of the Storm
  • Among Others
  • A Wizard of Earthsea
  • Dork Dairies (one)
  • The Cabinet of Wonders  ( I am about 1/2 way through this one but stopped to read other books for my classroom so will return to finish it.)
  • The Dark and Grimm

Do you have any other suggestions for me?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lining up books

  1. Sarah Cline says:

    That sounds like a great challenge! Good luck. Reading all break sounds like heaven to me.

  2. A friend has been recommending Because of Mr. Terupt for weeks. She and her students loved it. Good luck accomplishing your goal!

  3. Wilcox Carol says:

    I agree with Sarah. This sounds like heaven. Trying to think of some others that I have enjoyed recently- Splendors and Glooms (pretty long, though, I don’t think I could get through it in a day), I just read Will Hobbs’ newest, Never Say Die, a survival book set in Alaska, great for lovers of Gary Paulsen’s Hatchet. For adult reads- Twelve Tribes of Hattie was terrific. Right now I’m trying to finish Gone Girl.

  4. Jone says:

    Great challenge. I am getting ready for a writing workshop and was given a list of poetry books today.

  5. Ramona says:

    Navigating Early and Love, Ruby Lavender are in my spring break stacks. Have you read The Lions of Little Rock or One for the Murphys? Those are both favorites of mine from this fall.

Leave a comment