Quiet Celebrations

Slice of LIfe

A found poem in Ruth Ayres writing:  taken from an article on the Choice Literacy Site this weekend.   Respond, Reflect, Rejoice: The 3 R’s of Writing Celebrations 

Quote:  ” It is celebrations of the quiet kind that wrap around our minds and pull us back into our notebooks…”    Ruth Ayres

Quiet Celebrations

Wanted a writing group                                                                                                                     To hold me accountable                                                                                                                     Avoid floating in an ocean of words                                                                                                 Looking for an anchor

Needed people                                                                                                                                     To celebrate the little moments                                                                                                       No matter what we                                                                                                                             Celebrate the little things!

It’s not publication                                                                                                                                     It is Being a writer                                                                                                                                     A collector of words       stories         ideas     research                                                                        On the page

An ancor to our writing                                                                                                                             To our lives.

______________________________________________

Do we/ I do this in our classroom?  Do we provide that anchor for our students?

Thank you Ruth for stating the obvious  – respond, reflect and Rejoice!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quiet Celebrations

  1. I can tell from your poem that Ruth’s words soak deep into the marrow of your bones the way they do for me too!

  2. MaryHelen says:

    I’m so glad you are thinking about how this applies in your class. Just by reflecting you are gaining.

  3. Ruth says:

    Oh my! You’ve given me goosebumps. I read the quote and thought, did I really write that? And then each line of your poem reflected words back to me, reminding me why I like to play with words and how the heart of what we believe can become alive. Thank you for taking the time to write this. I’m honored.
    Ruth

    • Ruth – I love finding poems in writing – it is a great way to help me remember and reflect on the words of others. Thanks for the great article. I really appreciate the thoughts and ideas about celebrating the little steps. Joanne

Leave a comment