Family Business

Slice of Life

Saturday March 3, 2011

It’s Saturday and I am “recovering” from a week of teaching, parent conferences and realizing that I am not as young as I once was.   Twenty nine fourth graders have me beat in the department of energy.  So this morning I sit at my computer and just can’t think straight.   The list of things to do for house and home is there, the list for school is even greater.  Oh and there is the book I agreed to read and review for a friend (what was I thinking).

E-mail I can do that! Its simple, easy and quick – well sometimes.   As I am slowly working my way through the messages more and more comments come in from the late night Slice of Life I had written.  Wow – little gifts of appreciation and agreement.  Energy from the joy of sharing writing with others.

Then there is the note from my daughter that there is a new post on her blog.  So I click over to read and am energized to hear her joys and struggles as she worked through her third week of student teaching.  She shared beautifully what worked in the math lesson, where she likes what her supervising teacher does but might do it this way when in her own classroom, where students tested her and pushed more than she expected.

That same daughter appears at my door not long after to help me with down loading the software for my Promethean board and to show me how she is now using it to guide her lessons daily.  New learning for me and more energy.  She wants to know what I did about integrating my reading and writing with science. New learning for her.   We share books for read aloud’s  ( since Wednesday March 7th is World Read Aloud day), web sites, and curriculum books.  Energy is flowing and we are both talking fast and are very animated when my husband comes home and takes one look at us smiles and walks away saying let me know when you are done talking about the family business.

So much for no energy – the learning, sharing, building curriculum – the looking for a new way to reach students will always pull me out of the Saturday morning slump.  Thanks to   all of you who share the business of families and our family business of teaching and learning.  I am ready for another week!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Family Business

  1. Deb Day says:

    How lucky you are to share your teaching love and ideas with your daughter! Fabulous! I totally understand the fatigue at the end of the week (loved the line–29 fourth graders have beat me in the department of energy). High schoolers seem to drain all mine! Have a lovely rest of the weekend! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Ashley Dawn says:

    I was totally feeling that fatigue this week. I took today off of school to recharge and hang out with my mom and husband. But tomorrow I need to get things ready for the next week.

    I love that you are able to share teaching with your daughter! 🙂

  3. elsie says:

    I know that husband look when I am talking school talk on the phone with fellow educators. He’s smart to leave you alone until the important talk is over. That is so cool that you can learn from her and vice versa. I was surprised to find out the family business, but what a great one it is.

Leave a Reply

