OLG Old Lady Gardener # 39 Nothing here but a list

It is Saturday and we are past the mid way point of this months challenge. This is a challenge I was not going to do. Then it was a challenge I was just going to kind of do. Then when I watched a young (early 60’s) friend slip into a form of dementia I thought write darn it! (well actually I had a lot of other words there but I am working on being polite here)

You need to keep you brain thinking. Make that muscle work!!

Now on day 18 I come back to the point I started with – what do I have to write about?

Oh there are plenty of thoughts in my head but either they should not be shared in a public place or they are really repetitive (think winter weather) or they are depressing (think health issues).

So here I sit in my upstairs office where it is a bit warmer in my bright burgundy fleece and my cup of soy Chia tea. I am making lists of things I could write about and as quickly listing why not to.

  1. Weather – yep still snowing and very cold! How many times have I written about that? Too Many
  2. Family issue about mental health – not my story to tell. I have thought about that issue and what can I say and how can I respect those folks. Just leave those stories behind.
  3. My health – oh darn! As an old lady gardener this comes into play too often. Parts of this old body are showing some wear and tear. More of a tear – it appears the shoulder pain I can not get rid of may be a rotator cuff tear! Not good going into spring, when it does come. Who wants to hear about pain and movement in a shoulder. Not I!!
  4. Little Man – stories – I have shared plenty of those and don’t have a really fun one right now. Although I have a cute St. Patty’s day photo I can add at the end of this list.
  5. Plants – Yes, I named this series after my garden adventures but right now seeds are planted inside, some are tiny tiny plants starting to grow. The out side is a frozen land of white. Not much to see here at least for a few more days.
  6. Drawing and art – I try to draw and watercolor plants. They are usually plants from my frozen garden. I have not yet mastered painting snow and frozen gardens so not much happening in that area for now.
  7. Movies and books -I watched Ted Lasso, the beginning of season three like so many others last night. Books -I am lost in reading books by Maria Benedict. Historical fiction around famous woman. The stories we don’t know. They are great fun! Yep, that is all have have to say about those two items. Not enough for a stand along blog post.

I am sure I could keep going! It does give a list of things to write about in my personal journal or to talk about with friends tonight over dinner but for a blog post today. I think not!

Nothing to see or read here today.

At least I wrote – does that count?

Here is hoping tomorrow I am more inspired to write a real post!

Happy Saturday!

And a late Top of the Morning to you! We found a bit of green in this winter scene!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to OLG Old Lady Gardener # 39 Nothing here but a list

  1. A good list and a great pic make the perfect slice!

  2. Trish says:

    This is a great post! So much for someone to respond to…I hear every discard lament—I, too, am old—er. The internal debate about whose story is it? I struggle with that, too. I love Marie Benedict’s books, finished Personal Librarian last month. And frankly, a gently smiling face wearing green at the finale? Perfect.

  3. arjeha says:

    Lists are always good. You can’t go wrong with one.

  4. Anita Ferreri says:

    A great and relatable list for those of us at or approaching an age where our bodies and those of our friends and family are not what they were during those years when our bodies took care of us. I share so much of your post….keep up the mental exercise – at least that is what I say!

  5. Ramona says:

    Oh, but a list is a slice. Just check out all the different kinds that get posted during this month. And they all give us a peek into the life of the slicer. I’m with you on the difficulty of finding new things to write about.

Leave a comment