OLG – Old Lady Gardener #24 It is the little signs!

We are mid February and the climate is changing. I am concerned but a small side of me is not complaining this year. Here in Minnesota, February is a cold and snowy month but this year after an already long and snowy year we are warming. I am ok with that this year.

Today was a grey day with a damp chill in the air because it was raining. Yes, raining all day. It was wonderful and yet odd to hear the drops of rain hitting the windows. The piles of dirty snow were shrinking all day. The storm drains are hidden or frozen so there are large “lakes” at the ends of streets. Sidewalks are covered in puddles since there are large walls of snow on each side. There is no where for the water to go. The ground is frozen solid, the cement is holding the bitter cold of the past days and so these puddle are forming ice skids at the bottom of each one all down the sidewalk.

Walking is taking your life in your own hands. Many broken bones will find their way into the ER over the next couple days. I have one friends who just let me know she went down over the weekend. Right wrist broken and in a brace! ( oh please I don’t need that right now! )

In all this gloom there is also these little moments that show us spring is coming. The southern edge of my wooden garden bed is now visible. In the back garden (still too deep in snow to walk in) there is ground, real ground, showing along the south facing fence line. The Elm tree outside my office window is full of leaf buds that seem to be growing each day. The Maple tree in back also is budding out showing us that the trees know it is time to start waking up.

The days have been mid 30″s to 40’s with evenings in the 20’s. We will for sure have more cold days. Things will dip back down into the single digits. It is February in Minnesota for gods sake!

But the days are longer and the plant world has decided to begin the slow wake up process. So I will tread carefully and watch for the little signs that show us that warm days and green grass are coming.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to OLG – Old Lady Gardener #24 It is the little signs!

  1. I love this time of slow, quick little peeks of spring. I even have some of my daffodils already peeking out of the ground! I can’t wait for spring!

  2. Eileen Clark says:

    Goo morning, it’s been a fairly mild winter here in Kentucky. I’m always in a rush and want to put all my plants out on my deck, but I won’t because I know what will happen as soon as I do. I will force myself to wait just one more month. πŸ™‚

  3. Eileen Clark says:

    I believe that should be a Good morning to you. πŸ™‚

  4. Ramona says:

    Yay for signs of spring and warming days even if they don’t stay. I had my first daffodil sighting this week.

Leave a comment