Day 21 Slice of Life – Roll with the punches

It is a rainy spring day in Minnesota, at least it is not snow. It is quiet in some ways and in others not at all. The day was not how I thought it would be.

  • Construction worker was to start about noon. He showed up at 8:30 am.
  • Little Man has been coming at 10. He showed up at 8:45.
  • We have been taking Little Man out for a good walk/run at the park but it is to wet today  – so guess who is not going down for a nap without a struggle.
  • Internet is down and so I am writing in a word program hoping to be able to post later in the day – we will see
  • Doug took off to get a new modem for our internet and the shop was backed up with people. He could not get any service – so back home.
  • New modem was gotten later but it took hours before it would let us connect
  • Little Man and I made cookies this morning as a distraction from the rain and discovered there was no oatmeal for oatmeal chocolate chips (at least I had chocolate chips)

I could go on, but you get the point. The day was loaded with little missteps. Nothing major and really nothing to complain about. It was just one of those days.

A chilly rainy day in March. What it made me think about is how lucky we are to have these little worries today. We are safe, we are warm with water and food. Yes, there is a pandemic still lurking and yes, there is a teacher strike still setting everyone’s nerves on end. All that said, at the end of each day we have had three good meals, we can change into clean pajamas and crawl between clean warm covers to sleep.

I will not complain. My thoughts go out to those in so many places in our world who do not have these simple rights and pleasures right now.

May we find peace for all those in war torn areas.  

Feeling thankful tonight!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 21 Slice of Life – Roll with the punches

  1. You are right, even a day that goes wrong is enviable! It sounds like a lovely day. I like how your call your grandson Little Man. I like the cozy atmosphere you create with your writing, and- I imagine- in your home as well.

Leave a comment