Day 12 Slice of Life – a quiet day and thinking of peace

We have reached Saturday. After week of construction – sawing, pounding and jackhammering. The day was quiet, sunny and cold. The pace was slow with small tasks to do but nothing urgent. I redrew the basement plans once again although this time just be be sure measurement were closer to reality. There were not big changes in drawing number six.

The basement is more of a mess each day as we have gone from demo – tearing everything out to jackhammering the cement in one corner of the room. Monday, I hope is the turning point where we begin to rebuild. The day we go from tearing down to building anew.

In the mean time the open space of a quiet day allowed me to turn my thinking back to the garden and to the coming of spring, I hope. So I finally unpacked the grow lab shelves and the grow lights. They are not out in the new redone sunroom since it is not done either but getting there. Those shelves are just part of the over crowded office now. There are now two grow lights in the room neither hook up yet. It has been hard to get my focus back in that direction. I have all the parts I just need to put them together.

I have seeds, starting soil, lights, trays. Now I just need focus. I am a week behind in my planting plans. Last week Dahlias, and Delphiniums should have been planted and this week the Sea Holly and Hollyhocks should be planted. Nothing is planted yet. Next weekend we will be eight weeks out from our last frost date and I fee the urge to get moving.

As I look out my window we are still deep in hard, icy snow. It is hard to even image we will have warm enough soil in eight weeks to plant anything outside. Like the basement moving towards build something new I also need to begin the rebuilding of the garden. The seeds are waiting and I need to listen to them

It was oddly comforting to just put the grow lights up. It gave me a bit of hope that spring would come and we will indeed complete this basement project. The little world at our house will get put back together.

I began to realize in the open space that as my little world here was being torn apart so was the bigger world. The struggle of war and the destruction of people’s live and home and families is unbearable. I can see where my space will recover very quickly. I just don’t know how families who have lost so much can pull their lives back together. The terror of war is so much greater my little problems here.

I am so grateful for all we have here and that I can spend my days wondering about what size of a sink to be put in the laundry room. In light of the larger world issue it all seems kind of silly.

So tonight I send out love and care to all those who’s live have been disrupted but war, the pandemic or just other live issues.

For those of us you are healthy and in a safe place please take time to think of other and how you can help.

Thinking of Peace tonight!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Day 12 Slice of Life – a quiet day and thinking of peace

  1. Ramona says:

    Loved reading your thoughtful words this morning. Thanks for helping us remember to think of others and seek ways to help.

Leave a comment