Day 9 Slice of Life – it is a go!

If you have been following me since the first of the month (I know 9 whole days) you know I am in the middle of big household changes. There is sawing and pounding going on as I type. Little Man is somehow able to nap right through it all.

These projects have been in the planning stage since the beginning of the pandemic. We had planned this as the summer project when the chaos of the world shutting down, prices going up and my own health going crazy (surprisingly not due to Covid) began to happen. One project got started about three weeks ago and is mid way through with a few, not so minor, changes. The second and biggest is the basement remodel. I wrote about that yesterday.

As of last night I have four plans drawn out – some very different and a few just had tweaks here and there. This morning I woke at 5:30 a.m. knowing there were changes that need to happen. So I sat down one more time to re drawn the tiny bathroom and laundry room redo number 5.

Our contractor was coming at 9:00 a.m. and I was determined to be ready. I remeasured several places. I changed the direction a door and finally just thought I will add my questions and let him work then out.

He arrived and settle the design of the roof line for the small porch we are closing in and then joined me in the basement. I was happy to have a drawing to guide us in the discussion. I was honest and kind but truthful about my issues with the aging plumber that I had meet with the day before. He seems to take that in stride and moved on to my drawing.

We walked it through. We checked out pipes that could be moved and how to make sure we have enough head room in the shower. He knows the building codes so we check the distance you must have in front of a toilet. (15 inches if you want to know – at least here in Minnesota). He is a super tall guy so he understood my need for head room since he has needed to duck several times while walking around this room. We talked about how much inside wall space is needed for pipes.

Then suddenly we are discussing the final framing to take out to put in the new, the time line for the cement to be broken up for a new drains and on to counter tops and cabinets. Oh my gosh – the plan was a go!!

We have a bathroom/laundry room plan! He is setting up dates for the next steps. We are on the move towards having a finished basement with a new shower and bathroom. A laundry room that does not look like it was torn apart. The ugly sink will be gone!

He moved on in the discussion as if nothing great had happened while my heart was inside jumping for joy. I remained cool. I discussed next steps, asked a few more question and once he left through the back door into icy, snowy backyard – I jumped for joy!

This on-going project might really get done.

When my son and daughter-law come next they will have a nice place to stay! We will be back to a house with two bathrooms. The stuff piled all over my office and the garage will find new homes.

And you guys will not have to read about my building adventures. We will return to my on going garden and plant photos! All this craziness should be done just in time to take pictures of tulips and daffodils.

Come on Spring!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 9 Slice of Life – it is a go!

  1. Greg&Linda says:

    Home remodeling is a crazy time, but oh so worth it in the end. We lived in our basement for close to three months while we had our main bathroom & bedroom remodeled. Even though I had to check multiple closets to find the clothes I wanted to wear that day, it was worth it. I hope yours turns out well!

  2. That sounds busy and wonderful! So many decisions. Hold tight and always keep the end in mind. I hope it goes smoothly.

  3. Ramona says:

    I love your sense of excitement that builds throughout the slice until you jumped for joy! We’ll look forward to continuing updates and joyful conclusions.

Leave a comment