Falling behind but two quick thoughts on writing

It is now approaching 8:00 pm – not really late but late for me today. I have just now settled down to writing. Earlier this week I had many idea about what to write and I even recall writing a whole post in my head one night when I could not sleep.

I did not jot down those ideas. I did not get up and write out that “well” thought out post from the middle of the night. So here I sit tired, coming off of a 24 hour roller coaster of emotions (a story for another time – not ready to write about that now) and a day with “Little Man” (my grandson who comes 5 days a week.)

I have no idea where I am going with this except to say I have fallen behind and began writing with nothing to say and no energy to move forward.

But…words developed into words

Thought one about writing:

What this late night writing and feeling brain dead reminds me of is the March Challenge and that push to write daily. It brings up the old feeling the first few times I wrote for the challenge. That little voice that said “Just quit you have nothing today or any day!”

The beginning fear of what will people say about my writing.

The voice that wanted to remind me that indeed I was not a writer. “What were you thinking to sign up for this challenge – let along start a blog.” Who was I kidding????

It is now eleven years later and I am still writing almost every Tuesday and every March! I still wonder what people think of my writing but it no longer matters to me. I still find nights when I don’t know what to say and then I sit down to write and something happens – words develop words and I write.

I write because:

  • I like it
  • Because it makes me think more carefully and makes my brain work
  • It connects me with people (a lot of blogging friendships have developed over these years)
  • It is a mini journal of my life and thinking over time
  • It makes me a better writer – oh my early blog posts are pretty bad but it was fine. No one said – stop writing, no one said you are a bad writer – they just gave me likes and thoughts, ideas and encouragement.
  • I/We learn through doing – it made me a better writing teacher for my students (I am retired now but it still makes me a better writer to keep writing.)
  • It is fun – but I will not lie – it is work at time. (Especially when I am tired)
  • I write because I need to. It feeds a need I have to express my thoughts in words outside of my head. It is a need to work through a thought process and find meaning.

So if you are wondering about the challenge just do it! Writing builds writing and changes who you are! You can do it!

Thought two on writing:

Make a list of ideas for your March writing – start the list now!

This list is a collection of ideas, a bit of a poem, a quote that made you think – this list is your go to kick starter for writing. I use to do this all the time and then stopped after a while and tonight I am sorry because I could have used my list.

I do however, always make a list of ideas before the March challenge. It is what I go to when I am stuck or it is late and I need help just to get started. At times I have even started blog posts – just a few words or a title or a quote and saved it. Then on those days when words are hard to find I open up a post and begin. I am not looking at a blank page – I have words to get me going. It makes a difference!

I will be the first to admit that I make my list and often never use it but it is there. It just is an extra bit of insurance that helps me relax as the daily writing of March begins. I know I have some place to start if I need it.

I looked in my drafts file just now and found at least four or five posts started from a years ago that I never finished and most likely never will. I found one completed post that I never posted because I felt it had strong statements that needed more research to back them up and I never did the research – an interesting read. I am glad it is still there. Sometimes those lists are just fine as a list never acted upon. Sometimes those lists are a life saver in more ways than one.

So with those two thoughts I bid you a good night and sleep tight! I am hoping for a good nights sleep myself!

P.S. Completely off the subject but for those of you who read last weeks post about drawing and a need to people to help me keep drawing – yes I did draw this week and even posted a few little drawing to Instagram. I set a small goal of drawing evergreen twigs and learning the names of those bushes or trees. Below are a couple images I have been working on. They are not the best but a beginning. I was using pencil and colored pencils for these. My goal is to develop my ability to be a botanical artist. At least for my self and my drawing journal. So working to make these be more realistic is the goal. I need to also work on a better way to take pictures to share.

Blue Spruce
Arborvitae
White spruce

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Falling behind but two quick thoughts on writing

  1. arjeha says:

    You express the fears of so many of us when it is late in the day, at least for those of us who like to post early, and we feel we have nothing to say that is worth reading by anyone. Somehow, though, we still manage to write something and a post about nothing becomes a post about something. Don’t know if this makes sense or not.

  2. cvarsalona says:

    Joanne, if you think you posted late, don’t worry. I had to go into NYC for an important doctor visit so I posted about 10 pm. This is very late for me but when life intersects one does the best that can be done. Your thoughts were clearly explained and you gave your readers ideas for future slices.

  3. onathought says:

    Yes! I really needed to read this post. I should try to start a list – every year I think I should do that. This year I think I NEED to do it! I am still on the fence about March… your slice today is encouraging!

  4. Ramona says:

    Wonderful encouragement to write. I keep wondering how I can write for 31 days when my life is currently so constricted and small. But friends like you and your words are just the push I need to press on for my tenth year.
    Totally impressed with your drawings. I’m not the least bit artistic, but still have a watercolor I did of a cherry blossom at a library class. It makes me happy every time I look at it.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      I have been told and am finding that drawing is a matter of practice. Just doing a little every day or every week makes a difference. It still surprises me when something actual look like the plant even a little bit. Glad you are writing in March – always good to see a friends post. See you in March!

Leave a comment