#28 Needing a reminder

The curser is blinking at me. There is so much to say but most of it has already been said. It is not that I have run out of words. It is that I don’t want to write these words that keep floating to the top of my head and then out my fingers.

Every topic seems to have been over used in these 27 days of writing. Every topic has more behind it as well. We could go on and on about TP and Social Distancing and Zoom meetings with friends and family and following “Little Man” as he crawls and my garden and and and.

I am restless with a thousand things that could be done. I have projects all over the house and as many inside my computer. I have an abundance of things to do and think about. I have the privilege of a home, a yard, neighborhood, food and close family near.

I am thankful beyond belief and yet I worry like everyone. A small cough sends me off in a flurry of worry. If I am a bit tired one day or the next I worry. If my adult children talk about a cough and slight cold I worry. And so here I am writing about this darn situation once again.

Once again I am back to making lists of things to do – or not to do

It seems I need a reminder every few days!

  1. Do not sit still – it adds to the worry
  2. Do not read the news or scroll through FaceBook. It adds to the worry
  3. Do not jump to conclusions – it adds to the worry

 

  1. Keep busy with things that keep you moving
  2. Read light and enjoyable books
  3. Watch light and enjoyable movies
  4. Connect with friends anyway you can
  5. Get outside as often as possible
  6. Smile as much as possible

IMG_7720.jpeg

 

 

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #28 Needing a reminder

  1. You are so good to be coaching yourself – Bravo! Well, we have only ever been given the present, right? And that has not changes and is no different than it ever was. So, I applaud you for wanting to live each present day in and through a positive lens; if we don’t, then we’ve kind of lost that day, too, right? I love all of the plusses on your list – they seem to be favorites of mine to frame the day with an upward look. Thank you for sharing your struggle because I think it belongs to each of us and all of us. With that we are assured that we are never alone. Another great slice – I look forward to them every day:)

  2. Ramona says:

    Printing your list and gluing it right into my writer’s notebook! I commented to a friend that i have okay days and grumpy days. Yesterday was a grumpy day, today is okay, headed out for a walk soon!

  3. Brian Rozinsky says:

    Nothing wrong with reminders, especially as we’re likely (hopefully?) still aspiring to establish productive new routines.

Leave a comment