#26 Crazy Garden Lady

IMG_7840.jpegThe sun is up. The sky is blue and it is clear that spring is close by. The early bulbs are flowering and the tulips and daffodils are well on their way to standing tall in a few weeks. Every thing is right on track in the natural world of my yard and garden. The squirrels and rabbits are eating anything green after of winter of woody branches. They are digging holes all over the yard looking for hidden nuts that have been frozen since last November and I am determined to take that as a cheap way to have my yard aerated. One less thing to stress about.

Everything seems normal and then it is not. The emotional world is swirling around us. The state of everyone’s health is tipping off kilter and everyone seems to think hoarding toilet paper will help us. I now have decided the thing that will save me or maybe my family from me is to garden. Time in sheltered green space may help me keep my sanity in these interesting times.

I cannot do spring clean up yet but it is close. Maybe this weekend it will be warm IMG_7160.jpegenough and dry enough to remove the fallen sticks, clean off last years leaves and see what is really under all that moldy mess. It is a start and not so crazy.

The craziness comes in the veggie garden area. Last year I took on three raised beds in my neighbors yard. I have four in my yard. He has direct sun so they were perfected for tomatoes and squash. This meant I had 7 beds to care for and harvest. Lots of tomato sauce went into the freezer. I finished last year saying this is enough. Maybe too much! I was a bit overwhelmed at the end of the season and during clean-up time I told myself my four little beds are enough.

Then the pandemic hit! The shelves in stores are often empty and my seed box at home is full. The seeds that could be food in a few months. My family farming history and my mothers deep need to store food and be careful came roaring into by brain, my soul and my body. I could not leave all those seeds sit and go to waste another year when there could be food on the table. I could not just sit and watch the spring and summer go by and worry about health and food. I needed to move, act and do something.

So a quick, not really thinking, e-mail to my neighbor asked – would he consider not taking down the garden beds one more year. Could I use them all? I will trim and mow around them. No work on your half. I will share the veggies as well. The answer was quick – “Sure if you want to. I can’t really handle them anymore.”

I now officially have taken over the gardening of two yards. The flower beds in my yard and a total of 10 raised beds. Gardening here we come!

This Saturday I will begin planting seeds inside. Tomatoes and peppers will begin now. The others will start in another two weeks. My daughter will help with planning, planting and harvesting. Her partner will help restore some of the beds that are starting to fall apart. We will find a way to include “Little Man” in the great and crazy IMG_7066.jpeggardening adventure.

The travel plans for the spring and summer are off the table. The time spent gathering with friends has changed to virtual happy hours in the evening. The work schedule which for me was state testing is off the calendar. The days stretch before me with time, soil, and seeds. I am well within the state order to shelter in place in my front yard. I don’t think any one will report me as I step over the driveway into my neighbors yard to mow and plant.

Spring and my garden my just save me from another kind of crazy.

What are your plans to keep active and happy in this “new normal”?

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #26 Crazy Garden Lady

  1. hsatlas says:

    I, too, am looking forward to the spring clean up which will probably start soon too. Your post got me so excited! Wow, you’re starting to plant seeds inside – that’s good news. Good luck with your two gardens. I have a front and backyard, and I plant veggies on the side. I think I’ll spend more time in the front so that when people walk by, they’ll be able to enjoy it. Here’s to gardening keeping us sane!

  2. dearobb says:

    Every fall “I won’t do as much” precedes every spring ” oh what will I plant this year?” Its so pleasant. Thanks for writing!

  3. I absolutely agree with the therapeutic effects of gardening and you are going to have an amazing garden full of produce. How great is that, thanks for all the description of preparations and all the work involved. I like the line of days stretching before you with ‘time, soil and seeds’ Great prospect! I am planning to paint and write but that’s a lot less definitive and harder to get into!

Leave a comment