#14 Be Like a Tree

IMG_4834.jpegBreath with the trees

  • as they breath out we breath in – oxygen /carbon dioxide exchange
  • working together  – a must in these times

Move like a tree

  • they sit stately and move slowly in response to life around them
  • we need to learn how to sit and respond slowly to what is happening around us

Wake like the trees

  • many trees “awaken” in the spring – sap begins to move upward, leaf buds take note and unfurl in bright lime green to provide food for them over the warming months
  • we also could see this time of social distancing as part of the winter withdrawal knowing we will in a few weeks be able to step out, stretch our limbs and seek nourishment from the warmer days

Stand Tall with the trees

  • trees sink their roots deep into the ground to provide water, stability and connection to microbes, and other trees – they develop a deep relationship to the earth
  • we can stand tall at this time to nurture our own deep relationship to the earth, family and friends – we can push our own roots deep into our local community to find stability for our selves and support for others – that community may be your neighbors, family, an on-line community (yes, you writing teachers) – look around you there are friends everywhere

______________

IMG_5297.jpegI have walked my garden in the last few days. The ground is either mucky or frozen depending on the time. The leaf mold is covering last years growth but the early bulbs pushing through and peaking out of the frozen ground. (photo from last spring)

Each day I stand at the edge of the flower bed and look up into the wide reaching limbs of a powerful old Maple tree that sits at the edge of my yard. The roots spread out across the area below me deep in the ground. The trunk is thick with age. There are branches scattered about the garden from this ancient tree. The casts offs from winter storms.

The Maple bud are pushing excited to spring into action. From where I stand I can see them increasing in size each day just a tiny amount. They are a deep cranberry red and from them leaves will pop out in another three weeks or so. I know as these leaves grow they will release an abundance of oxygen into the air giving us renewed life, health and energy.

I will continue to breath out giving this tree a small amount of carbon dioxide and thanking it for the oxygen it is giving me. The continuing exchange of life.

Yes, it seems I am a tree hugger. I see this tree from my bed late at time when my mind is spinning with worry or fear. Each time I see it there I am calmed by its steadiness over the years.

I will spend the next few weeks working to be more like a tree. How about you?

 

P.S.  Remember there are trees who will do this in a few weeks and hopefully so will we!               (or maybe yours are already in full joy where you live.)

IMG_2841.jpeg

Pella, Iowa – Tulip festival 2018! Pure Joy

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to #14 Be Like a Tree

  1. dmsherriff says:

    Everything about this slice is wonderful! I especially like “stand tall like trees” – the part where you remind us to connect with community. That has been my experience where I live. Aisle conversation at the grocery store, walks with pooches and neighbors…reconnecting with what is right in front of us. Beautiful reminder!

  2. As soon as I saw your title I was drawn in, thinking, “Why haven’t I thought of such a cool topic for a slice?” Your imagery is lovely – looking up into the branches of the big maple next to your garden…I also love your connectedness to nature, you breath out what it breaths in. an amazing truth and so perfect to illustrate how we are all in this together. Your analogy to tree-ness is perfect for these anxious times…Let’s take it slow, and thank you for a stellar reminder!

  3. dearobb says:

    Thanks for sharing. Advice from a tree!

  4. Trina says:

    I need to be like a tree! This is a perfect analogy and will give me a lot of think about as I walk.

  5. A perfect analogy. Thanks for reminding us of the value of being like a tree. I will practice and praise their presence as I go forward into spring.

  6. Your slice was beautiful! I loved the imagery and pictured myself standing strong under a tree and looking up at its branches. Instead it’s a wintry mix today, so I’ll look at the big tree across the street and think of stepping outside and stretching soon enough. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment