#10 The thinking of little ones

“… children are real, that they contain whole worlds of thoughts and feelings, that download.jpgthey deserve a complex and demanding literature . . . and that, believe it or not, such a literature exists.

https://www.mariondanebauer.com/blog/2020/03/the-lonely-prawn/

I began the morning early at the school I sometimes work at. I was there for a staff meeting. My part was to share information to teachers that would be needed in a few weeks when we begin the state testing. As I left the meeting and the building to head home I over heard multiple conversations anything thing from a movie they saw, to what was in their backpack (a favorite toy, a stuffed animal and the real dog that came to school was somewhere in the hall). I also heard little ones talk about Corvid -19, about a cousin in the hospital, or a family member who had died recently.

Yes, their conversation and thinking ranges from little kid toys to death. I was walking in the 1st grade hallway and passed the kindergartener students that were out on the playground for an early morning run. These were not the 5th graders. So when I sat down and read Marion Dane Bauer’s blog post today I could only think – yes.

Children are real with deep and complex concerns and thoughts. They listen, they hear and they think about what is going on in their family, their school and the world. We often say watch what you say in front of kids. I don’t think that is the point. It is more we need to watch how we say things, how we follow up with experiences and conversations. Children get and understand deep and thoughtful topics. Children are able to process way more than we give them credit for.

We need as educators to provide students with great books that help them see many points of view. Books that ask hard questions and share hard experiences. Our children see and experience so much giving them something to read that is similar to their experience just helps them process and know that this is a topic to share and talk about.

As an old retired teacher I can name many a great book I shared with students but now in 2020 what are the good but hard conversation books that you are finding download-2.jpgstudents really return to over and over again? or you as a teacher share as a read aloud that walks us into good hard questions?

download-1.jpgExamples:     Authors like Raina Telgemeier, Jason Reynolds,         Titles?????

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #10 The thinking of little ones

  1. The Other Side by Jaqueline Woodson is a timeless picture book in which two young girls unknowingly bridge the segregation gap for their families – just by being kids. Thank you for an important post on a subject that will help to keep us all in good books.

  2. arjeha says:

    We so often don’t give kids the credit they deserve. They see, hear, and feel things just as we do. They want answers just as we do. We need to be honest with them and give them the answers they need at the level they can understand.

  3. Ramona says:

    My favorite one to share as a read aloud was The Liberation of Gabriel King. So many tough issues addressed in this book, but also with a touch of humor. A lovely combination. And Ghost Boys by Jewell Parker Rhodes is a more recent one that I’ve read. I’m sure there are more, but it’s nine and that’s when I forget everything.

Leave a comment