Slice of Life /30 Communities help

We are close! Today and tomorrow and we celebrate another year of the writing challenge. Today I have not known what to write so I spent time reading others posts this morning. It was to find a topic, an idea but what I found was a power house of writers.

My month has been busy and although I read at least three post a day I realize now I have missed so much! There are poems, stories, little moments – families, teaching ideas, writing advise, frustrations, fears, joys and celebrations. This is a powerful group of people who have gathered this month to write.

IMG_6117.jpegEach of us have been in the private space of writers – alone with our computers or notebooks and our words. Yet each of us have also been encircled by a group of new and some old friends who wish to share their words with us. Some days we get lots of comments and some days none at all. There are days that writing was easy and others that it was a struggle even to open to a new page to write. But here we are having written our way to 31 days of words. Thirty one days of sharing thoughts and moments from our lives.

Each year the struggle and joy of writing makes me a stronger writer and a stronger person. What a gift this is for me! And hopefully for you as well!

This month has been a hard one for me to write. I have worked hard to keep my posts light and yet truthful to my thinking day to day. This month has been a month of watching and feeling helpless as loved ones around me were diagnosis with large health issues.

I have chosen not to use this space for those concerns but there were days that those words are the only ones in my head. So this has been an interesting month. It has been a month of finding how words can distract, help to release and show me how to move forward when stuck. It has kept me in the present moment as we find our way through the health issues of family.

Amazing!

I want to thank our great writing team who brought this all together. I  want to send a thank you out to those who volunteered to be part of the Welcome Wagon. Also a big thanks to those who have commented and followed along as I have found ways to keep me feet on the ground, move forward.

I will see you tomorrow for one last Challenge post – day 31!  Then I will take a break for a week or so to provide support to my loved ones as they moved towards health.

(There should be garden pictures when I return to writing)

Thanks everyone – it has been a great month and I appreciate this community of writers more than you can know!

DSC05165.jpeg

 

 

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice of Life /30 Communities help

  1. TammyB says:

    I feel the same about the community! There are days that are more commenting than others but there is comfort in knowing that other writers are writing right along with us! I love reading your posts – thank you for being here.

  2. Joanne – I met you through your slices, and I feel like I have found a friend. From your captivating pictures of Lake Superior, to your beautiful sentiments about your garden and the life of a seed, I have really enjoyed sharing this month connecting. Thank you for that and for expressing the experience of this month so beautifully 🙂

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Thank you! It has been fun to get to know you as well. It is the amazing and wonderful things about this writing community. I hope you will continue to post on the Tuesdays Slice of Life. I will return to posting in a week or so every Tuesday. Happy Writing!

  3. arjeha says:

    This community is great They are always there for us with reassuring words of encouragement even when we are facing difficulties. I don’t think I would continue with my blogging if it weren’t for the support this community gives.

Leave a comment