Breathe, listen and remember

IMG_6394.jpgThe day is beautiful, sunny, a gently breeze and the temperature is moving from an early morning chill of 59 to the gentle warmth of mid 70’s.  The fall season has arrived with all its glory. There are a few trees changing color, acorns dropping everywhere, wild grass lifting seed heads high to blow in the wind. The cycle of growth and dying is visible in the fall air.

This morning as I enjoy this beauty and breathe in this fresh change of season I am also quickly reminded that it is dying season. It is a time of closing things down and putting things to rest. It is a time of letting go as well.

The idea of letting go comes in many ways – the simple letting of this years gardens – the good, the bad and the ugly ( I never did get the grass to recover in back). The letting go is also larger in that this is the time of year when I have lost so many family members. Fall, especially September, is a time I have experienced the death of my father when I was little, the death of several Aunts and Uncles and not long ago the death of my Mother. Each time I am reminded of how powerful and yet how fragile life is. I think about the fact that we are all here for only a short time and letting go comes all to soon.

I have a friend who is struggling with cancer now working hard to beat the beast. My IMG_6389.jpgdaughter shared with me, this morning, of a dear friend who is losing her Mother to that same beast this week. This is the time that two years ago I faced a hearth attack in the early morning hours. Life and death show up unexpected and/or planned for in all our lives.

It is also a day of remembering those lost in the on going battles among races, cultures and religions. Those lost in the 9/11 attacks – and for me this reaches out also to those lost to the violence across our country and around the world. So much loss!

Life is precious, amazing and full of wonderment. Take a moment to step outside – breathe, listen and remember to share a bit of help and love with those around you.

Life is short!

IMG_6393.jpg

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Breathe, listen and remember

  1. Tara Smith says:

    So wisely put: “Life and death show up unexpected and/or planned for in all our lives.”

  2. Ramona says:

    I love this meditation on loss. The sunflower is exquisite! Did you take the photo? I love your focus on those lost in 9/11 and the ongoing violence around our world. Blessings to you this September as you remember so many changed by loss.

Leave a comment