Day Nine: Are kids reading?

I over heard a conversation the other day about reading or print – “Print is dead. Kids just don’t read anymore. They just play video games.”  I twisted my head a bit and thought no I don’t agree but it wasn’t my conversation so I when back to my own work.

Then yesterday I pulled out A Wrinkle in Time. This old copy was 211 pages. A slim little book that I finished in a few hours. It occurred to me that long ago when this book came out most of the mass paperbacks for kids were about that size – about 150 to 200 page.

I looked across my book shelf to see Judy Blume books at 150 pages, Tuck Everlasting atimages-1 139, and The View from Saturday (E.L. Konigsburg) at 159 pages. Sure there are others that were larger but my gut memory was that this was pretty common.

Then along came Harry Potter with the first book having 341 pages and the final book being 634 pages. I recall folks saying kids won’t read it. Ha! Each book of hers got longer and longer. We – kids and adults – did not put it down.

imagesOn my shelf there is the Inkheart series each being about 534 pages and geared for a bit younger reader. There is Chains, Forge and Ashes each by Laurie Halse coming in at about 300 pages a book. There is Hunger Games series with MockingJay the last of the books coming in at 398 pages.

Sure this is a very random collection of books but what I have found and what I see in students is that they are reading. They are reading longer books, books in series and reading both print and digital. They read graphic novels. They read way more non fiction books and articles on line then when I began teaching in the “dark ages” before digital books.

Reading is not dead – I am always amazed during my book group, of retired teachers, when we get to picking a new book. We have a list a mile long but there are always new ones that pop up. Last time we met there were six new books suggested within a minute of asking the question “What shall we read for next month?”  Every time I turn around someone is mentioning – oh in my book group we are reading ——— fill in the blank.

I know I am a teacher. I know my friends are readers but I think as a whole we are not that different from others. People do read, they are still reading and they want their kids to read. I know the parents of our ELL students want their child to be a reader.  My parents of high poverty students all said they wanted and needed their kids to be readers.

So when you hear that silly phrase – print is dead or kids don’t read – you might give them a funny look and tell them to look around, walk into a library, check out the local book store. We are still a society that reads!

So what are your reading for fun?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Day Nine: Are kids reading?

  1. Patricia Palmer says:

    Ahh…your post is music to my ears! YES! We are still a society who reads! As a parent of teenagers, I know that reading formats have definitely changed in that there are many added ways that kids can be “reading.” Do I want them to read actual books? Of course! Do they self-choose? Rarely! Did I read as much as I do now when I was their age? Don’t think so. I love your study of the books on your shelf, specifically the similarity in the page numbers – almost like a formula. Kids will read what interests them, regardless of page numbers, if it grabs them and makes them hunger for more. Thanks for your observant slice!

  2. ureadiread says:

    Yes, kids are reading. I have a sneaking suspicion that kids of readers read (even) more. Also, as readers, we may be alert to the signs of other readers.

  3. I agree. Kids do read if you offer choice, time to read, and guidance. I love how you keep up to date with titles and would love to peruse your bookshelf!

  4. cflathers says:

    I have high school kids that beg to have an entire class to read in or please just a few more minutes, I am almost done with my book. Yes, there are kids who at this point in time won’t read. We just have to keep pushing them until they find that book that connects them.

  5. This is an encouraging post. You have made a great point with wonderful evidence to back it up. Thank you! As long as kids are allowed to pursue “real reading,” then yes, they ARE reading! Thank goodness. As for what I am reading, I just finished The Great Alone by Kristen Hannah and I am starting Uncommon Type by Tom Hanks. How about you?

  6. Kids are definitely reading! They especially love graphic novels! Some of my students actually prefer a print copy over the digital books on their iPads. Reading is nowhere near dead, that’s for sure!

  7. Ramona says:

    Loved seeing your thinking about kids reading today. I agree with you – we are still a society that reads. I’m currently reading Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess, a verse novel that won the Schneider Award. My adult book club is reading The Optimist’s Daughter by Eudora Welty. And I’m also reading Dear Fahrenheit 451!

  8. Trina Haase says:

    No way is reading dead! You are so right, in my experience, most parents want their kids to be readers and like books. Right now I am reading Countdown by Deborah Wiles and The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson. The Orphan Master’s Son has been on my list to read for a long time.

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Countdown is good and Deborah is working on the last of the trilogy right now. I think due out next fall if I am right. I have not read The Orphan Masters’s Son. I will have to look that one up. Thanks

      • Trina Haase says:

        I heard that Deborah is working on the last of the trilogy – SO cool! I should warn you that The Orphan Master’s Son is a bit dark and disturbing. It is about North Korea.

  9. reocochran says:

    My grandkids still love taking turns reading pages. I have always loved that my Dad was the one in charge of bedtime stories! He was quite unique in reading Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, but everyone likes on version or another of “Sherlock Holmes” including the Robert Downey Jr, Jonny Lee Miller and Benedict Cumberbatch versions! 🕵️

Leave a comment