Day 27 – Slice of Life Challenge – And so it begins

The e-mails were flying today, and the conversations with teachers was a bit on edge. Tomorrow it starts for our school and everyone is unsettled.

The spring state tests are what starts. imgres.jpg

I work part time in a k-5 inter city school. My job is to do the prep work for the test – set up the computer sections, scheduling, running the computers, tracking who takes what test and reporting back to the district and state and solving problems what ever they are. I also see my job as helping to keep people calm and settled around this time of year.

There is the worry about the students, their ability to perform well on these tests, there is the budget cuts and job changes and the regular exhaustion that hits everyone right now. Teachers are worried – the political climate is not helping the situation.

Today I just smiled, answered questions, tried to complete tasks so others did not have to. I also just tried to breath myself. It is easy to get caught up in the high energy around testing. I know that does not help students, staff or myself.

Tomorrow I hope to walk in calm and settled. The 5th graders are taking their science test before we leave for spring break on Friday. It is one test with 2 parts. They can do this!

We will stretch, breath, say a few positive statements and then login!

Spring – the birds are singing, the plants have just a touch of green, today the air started to warm just a bit and the testing begins! images.jpg

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 27 – Slice of Life Challenge – And so it begins

  1. Ramona says:

    Love this part of your job self-created job description: “I also see my job as helping to keep people calm and settled around this time of year.” Having been on the teacher end of testing for many years, it’s invaluable to have the support of others who are calm and settled. It was always great to work with them when things didn’t go as planned. Your ongoing mantra – “stretch, breathe, and say a few positive statements” will be appreciated every testing day!

  2. Testing is always so stressful, for the kids and the teachers! I’m sure that your calm helpfulness is appreciated. Best wishes for smooth testing!

Leave a comment