Day 18 – Slice of Life Challenge – Seeking ideas

Stuck with writing this morning – imgres.jpg

I reworked a piece this morning for my writers group which meets tomorrow.

I read over a few chapters in Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.

I paged through Keeping a Nature Journal, by Clare Walker Leslie, gazing at the images.

I scrolled through the links on todays call to post.

I found a stumbling little poem :

  • I feel helpless
  • some days I am limping
  • while writing under the influence
  •  I am nervously waiting
  • to ready myself to write
  • I  take a walk
  • I am buried in paper work
  • having nothing to write
  • everything eventually gets done
  • I am in need of
  • conversations
  • inspired by visiting
  • I will miss this
  • it is the little things
  • that are so profoundimgres-1.jpg

 

(This poem was developed by pulling parts of the tag lines in the call to post today.)

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 18 – Slice of Life Challenge – Seeking ideas

  1. Terje says:

    I like your found poem. It speaks to me.

  2. arjeha says:

    Great poem. Perfect way to find something to write about when inspiration is fleeting.

  3. Patricia says:

    Your poem says so much that is true in my myself. I love both books you mentioned.

  4. djvichos says:

    I admire the journey from struggle to the appreciation of it. And the conversations from visiting – what longing behind those words. I love it!

  5. room311news says:

    Very interesting post! I must go check out the Keeping a Nature journal book!

  6. vendija723 says:

    Terrific use of your source material! Very clever inspiration.

  7. lindabaie says:

    Some days. . . Your words show the feelings well. It’s not always easy to find a topic!

  8. What a strong poem from found phrases. I can feel how you are feeling — I have felt that way myself about writing.

  9. rdicarne says:

    Very clever idea! I have been struggling a little more this year to find ideas.
    ritadicarne.com

  10. Joy Berg says:

    Very creative found poem!

  11. Found poetry – how fun! It’s so creative. I like this stanza the best: I am in need of/ conversations/ inspired by visiting. PS I love Bird by Bird.

  12. This is a clever way to address the struggle to write a piece. Bird by Bird is a favorite. I will have to look for Keeping a Nature Journal.

Leave a Reply

