It’s Monday! What are you reading? fantasy

imgresI tend to fall for certain authors and Jonathan Auxier is one of them. I read Peter Nimble and the Fantastic Eyes a year ago or so and didn’t love it at first but for some reason the character of Peter grew on me. I wanted to know about this orphan who had lost his eyes. I wanted to follow his wild tales across the seas. So when Sophie Quire and the Last Storyguard came out I was on it.

I finally had time to read Sophie last week and fell in love all 51-qWHHpDiL._OU01__BG0,0,0,0_FMpng_AC_UL320_SR214,320_over again. My childhood love of magic and heroes came tumbling out. I spent many a happy evening reading.

Sophie is growing up in a book store and is a young bookmender. She has lost her mother and lives in a town that is preparing to burn all books of nonsense. This means all children’s books, and fiction. How could you not be hooked with that as a beginning?  Plus dear Peter Nimble arrives in the middle of the night. He brings a book that needs repairing but hold a magic power and possibly the answer to what really happened to Sophie’s mother. This is where we begin – a tale of strange animals, witches, magic, evil and books.

There is so much to share but it is much better to just find a cup of tea, a comfy chair and slide into the world of fantasy. It would make a great read aloud to start the year. You could but don’t really need to read Peter Nimble first. I would read one out loud and leave the other for the students to read and have fun with on their own.

The Night GardenerAuxier also published The Night Gardener in 2014.  I have heard good things about it so it is now on my TBR list. All of these would be a great October read with scary tales and spooky characters.

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Monday! What are you reading? fantasy

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I know The Night Gardener & haven’t read it, or these others, Joanne. Oh my, 3 more books to be sure to read! But thanks, they sound terrific!

Leave a Reply

