SOL Challenge Day 12 – And it is Spring!

And so the race begins! It is spring in Minnesota! At least in my yard! Here is what I saw last night as the sun was sliding down the western sky.

  • two very small crocus leaves sticking out of the ground
  • the purply tops of the Hyssop plants at ground level
  • 10 to 12 green spikes that are the beginnings of the fall planted garlic
  • the chives glowing green under the leaf mold
  • and the leaf buds on the lilac bushes pushing out to begin growth

This morning we added

  • the starts of 4 different tulip plants just out of the ground
  • the beginnings leaves of Mums -greening at ground level
  • tiny green curly leaves of last years parsley – which never winters over in Minnesota but did

imgresWe also have to add this morning that the rabbits and the squirrels are just as excited as I am. They are everywhere. There are holes everywhere! The squirrels, our dear friends from Kate DiCamillo writing are digging everything up as fast as they can.

We are now in the spring race to see if I can fence faster than they can dig. I spent last night at dusk sprinkling freeze dried fox urine. I was hoping it would work as my night time predator to keep the critters away from the greens. ( It did sort of!)

Yes, I know they are hungry – I left food at the compost bin but they want my fresh greens. I know they may need those fresh greens after a long winter of dried nuts but those are my hard work of planting tulips. Those spiky green things are this years garlic supply and the Hyssop plants once they bloom are for our friends the bees. imgres-1

Ah Spring! I will take it with the song birds, the warmth of the sun, the little green sprouts, the mud and even the squirrels and rabbits. It is a glorious time of the year as the snow and chill leave and the color returns to the land.

I am off to put up my spring fences and enjoy the holes in my front lawn!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOL Challenge Day 12 – And it is Spring!

  1. arjeha says:

    Yes, Spring is here. Let me add what we saw in our yard; The pussy-willow is about to burst forth. The daffodils are sprouting yellow. Robins have filled our yard.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    What a happy and celebratory post, Joanne. I love every bit, think it’s very nice of you to feed those little creatures.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    I have never heard of fox urine – but I guess I need to get some for my tulip beds right away!

Leave a comment