SOL Challenge Day 9 – March Winds

“It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.”

From Charles Dickens’ Great Expectationsimgres

This is a quote I pulled from someones blog a week or so ago. I plopped it here to use at some point because I love the contrast in the writing.

Today, here in Minnesota, it was just that type of day. At times it was sunny and warm and we were full of spring. Then a few minutes later the clouds covered us, the wind blew and you could feel winter lurking around the corner. The tree branches were dancing in the wind and the old leaves left on the trees were rattling as they were pulled from the branches and danced down the street.

March – is it winter or is it spring?

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOL Challenge Day 9 – March Winds

  1. dianeandlynne says:

    Though T.S. Eliot wrote that April is the cruelest month, I believe March is harder to take. Will snow cover the budding tulips and daffodils? We rejoice in the forsythia only to see its branches laden with wet, soft snow. Ah, me.

  2. Kimberly says:

    I love the way the wind seems to take center stage in your piece.

  3. djvichos says:

    Gorgeous last line! What imagery! I love that the old leaves were released by the wind and danced down the street. It seemed like the wind had given them freedom at last.

Leave a comment