Seeking Color for Warmth

This is short because if you live anywhere in the northern half of the U.S. you have heard enough about cold. If you live in the mid west you are ready to find a flight out of here for awhile. -25 to -30 is just not much fun day after day!

This year, like most years, a flight out of this frozen tundra is just not in the budget so what do we frozen folks do?  Here is a short list of how I am making it till spring –

  • spend time with my garden magazines – color abounds
  • IMG_2608starting seeds under a full spectrum light – I know it is to early but I just like watching last years green lettuce seeds grow
  • reading books about summer and plants – think Barbara Kingsolver’s – The Prodigal Summer – it has a green cover!imgres-1
  • spending time at the local establishments with others who are reading and writing (we won’t mention the drinking)
  • reviewing photos of last years garden and making my Facebook friends look at them – under the title – Seeking Color
  • and drinking green tea, and more hot tea and again more hot tea!

How are you making it through the cold days of winter?  Smile the sun is out and it is only a – 6 with wind chill at about  – no wait, I just check it is now 3 whole degrees and it feels like a – 4.

We have a Heat Wave!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Seeking Color for Warmth

  1. Dana Murphy says:

    Joanne, I admire your dedication to learning about gardening. I remember you posting about it last year. It’s amazing to me how much you are learning and growing as a gardener.

  2. I don’t know how you northerns/northwesterns do it! Us Texans are crying in our winter coats in the 40s! lol Stay warm!!!!!!

  3. arjeha says:

    For me it is all about making plans for summer and having something to look forward to. Last night I got theatre tickets for two shows in NYC. Trip date is in August.

  4. I was so excited to see the Jung’s seed catalog arrive. I love looking through it and making plans for my garden. It helps me get through these long days of winter.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    Love that you are finding books with “green” covers, always helpful. We had that cold in December & now it’s to a high of about 40. The ice on the streets from that November snow is finally going away. I imagine we’ll get the real cold again. Glad you are finding more than one way to keep warm!

  6. Thinking about gardening is a perfect way to beat these cold temps – we’re freezing in Chicago and I’m dreaming of Southern California! This is the only time of year I might do this, but going to a tanning place is something that fits perfectly in my life when it’s negative anything degrees!

  7. Tara Smith says:

    Yes! I am looking through seed catalogues at the moments thinking about warm Spring days, too.

Leave a comment