Missing my writing window

Slice of Life logo

 

It is Tuesday and Slice of Life day. Last week we finished up the challenge and I was so set to write each Tuesday. Then this morning I had an early meeting. It was to be done in an hour. I would write directly after the meeting but I walked about of the building at noon – four hours later. It is testing season and so much to do.

I hurried off to my afternoon book group with retired teachers, met my husband for a quick dinner and now am finally home. Ah – I thought an evening to write but then I looked at my e-mail. There was way to much to deal with and work to complete for testing.  So I am here to say I am still here, I will still write but not tonight.

I realized I need to get organized for the next 5 weeks. I will be helping with testing for 5 weeks so Tuesdays will be tricky. I need to plan ahead – maybe even write on the weekend.  None of this wait until Tuesday morning and write quietly in my office in the morning sun with tea.

What happened I thought I was retired. This feels a bit like the old work schedule. I guess this is what I get when I say yes to helping. When I say yes to little jobs that turn into big jobs.

See you next Tuesday – with a more interesting slice of life.

My slice today is really – just a note to say I am headed back to work. It is testing season!

 

imgres-1

 

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Missing my writing window

  1. mgminer says:

    I love the honest reality of this piece of writing. It encourages me to know that it is OK to write to clear the mind, to get organized, or just to realize what needs to happen so that we can write. Thanks and good luck with testing season!

  2. There’s nothing wrong with writing on a Sunday and linking to your slice on a Tuesday. (I just did it myself this past week.) 🙂

    • Joanne Toft says:

      Always good to know – it just has not been the way I have worked but at least for the 5 weeks of testing it is what I will need to do. I have loved my retirement routine of writing with tea in the morning. When I was working daily I wrote at night as a reflection on what happened in the classroom each day. Testing is a different animal all together. One I don’t like but am willing to help teachers now that I am not in the classroom daily.

  3. Look at you! You were so dedicated to writing, you found time to write something, even if it wasn’t how you envisioned it. I love your openness and I can hear your frustration, but love how you end with a sense of resolution. Thankfully testing season doesn’t last forever!

  4. mrssurridge says:

    Oh my. This isn’t how I dream my retirement will be! However, as a teacher who is NOT retired, I know what a gem you must be. People like you make us so thankful for the help…but you already knew that.

  5. bbutler627 says:

    Everyone has their own way of getting Tuesday slices in. I tried to do this too and have one ready by Sunday and they the weekend got away from me. I finished mine after dinner tonight but need to come up with a better pre-plan maybe. That you wrote and linked up counts, no matter the content. Testing is a time-suck!

Leave a comment