Tumbling through books – a silver of my reading life

Slice of Life logoIt’s Tuesday and what I am reading is still rolling around in my head. I have a stack of new books (both kid and adult):

  • I used the  gift certificate at the book store,
  • I have a group of books from Net Galleys on my i pad,
  • plus a few books I couldn’t help but hit the buy button on over the last few weeks that got sent directly to my i pad,
  • Amazon settled a law suit of some kind so I received $9 that I put towards Grasshopper Jungle – need to read for my May children’s book group
  • I joined an on line book group this morning for MWP so off to the library to pick Pat Conroy’s book My Reading Life
  • I spent a little bit of time on Good Reads marking books I have read
  • I spent time on Net Galley reviewing books I have read

Hmmm – All this reading and writing – amazing what happens when we grow up. There was a time in my life when I was placed in summer school because I couldn’t read. Well really, I could read but I read slowly. I took my time to understand and live in the world with the characters.

I remember being told by the summer school teacher – you are to good a reader just sit in the back of the classroom in that last desk and read. So I did!  I didn’t complain I was given a chance each day to sit and read any book I wanted. I spent my summer morning reading and the afternoon on my bike or at the pool not a bad summer.

Reading Natalie Lloyd’s post over at Nerdy Book Club today made me remember reading in my closet which was in the eves of our attic. (dark, dirty and hidden – perfect for a little kid)

I read under my covers, in apple trees and in the back seat of our car while my Mother sang at funerals.

Now I read in bed, on the porch, at the coffee shop or the lake -I would read in apple trees but it is getting harder to climb and stay up there.

A silver of a reading life –

What is a silver of your reading life – past and present?

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in behavior, Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tumbling through books – a silver of my reading life

  1. I, too, am delighting in my bounty from Amazon over the lawsuit – 22 dollars for me! Woohoo! I read everywhere I can – most recently, in the bathroom, where there’s a lock to keep the kiddos out!

  2. elsie says:

    Smart teacher you had in summer school. I love to take a road trip because that means my husband drives and I get uninterrupted reading time. I suppose I’m should look at the landscape if we are somewhere new, but the land in my book is so much more fascinating.

  3. newtreemom says:

    Looks like I need to check my Amazon account. Hope I got a little of the bounty!

    I love what your summer school teacher did! And I love this- “I would read in apple trees but it is getting harder to climb and stay up there.” Thanks for sharing this!

  4. bevbaird says:

    Loved your post! I too read everywhere. Now, I hacve so many books to read and books on the go. Less on my kobo tho .

  5. jennieb says:

    I love this line: “I would read in apple trees but it is getting harder to climb and stay up there.”

  6. Ramona says:

    Borrowed Pat Conroy’s book from my brother last year, maybe I’ll get it read on break this year! I wrote in a graduate course notebook that I believed that I could solve any problem in my life with the right book. I still believe it!

Leave a comment