A Slice of My Day (March Post #10)

Slice of Life logoI was at a loss as to what I was going to write today when I realized it is the same with our kids and I tell them just write about your day. A slice of what you did today. So I am taking my own advise and filling you in on today.

My days feel odd to me since everyone is a bit different. Since I have retired each day presents itself with new activities. This morning I played the slug and did not get up until 8:00. I stayed in bed reading since I refused to face the snow that was outside my door. No – not new snow that old dirty stuff that has been then for so long. We had been in southern Iowa over the weekend with temperatures near 60 and most of the snow gone. It seemed like heaven to see actual ground and to have streets – real streets to drive on not wash boards of bumpy ice.

At 10:00 it was tea at the nearby garden center with an old friend who is also retired from teaching. Of course we talked teaching, children and books. I will be a reserve in a classroom on Wednesday this week so we also worked on ideas for that. We also did take time to check out the spring flowering plants.

At 12:15 I picked up my daughter and we drove out to the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum. I had a 1:00 meeting to help review some new materials for this spring as students and children come to the gardens. They are developing activities that can engage parents, teachers and children in looking closely and learning more about the plants and animals we find at the arboretum. From there my daughter and I took a long walk through trails enjoying the sun and the sound of melting snow.

This evening I am writing and reading. What a marvelous day!  It is one of the first days where I actual feel retired. I moved slowly, enjoyed good friends and family and did a little amount of planning and work for students.

Nice – it has only taken me 8 months to begin to figure out this thing called retirement.search

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Slice of My Day (March Post #10)

  1. Lisa says:

    I love this! I laugh at it too – retirement for you just means sort of getting to make your schedule, on some days, and working without pay. What a wonderful day you had and bless you for continuing to give back to so many. I so enjoyed your post!

  2. But you ARE figuring it out..KUDOS to you and to all you are doing! There are many of us about to join you in the ranks of the retired!

Leave a comment