Slice of Life – I can’t Kill it!

Slice of LIfe 2012

It was an icy, snowy day and after school classes were cancelled. The last day of meteorological winter and the first real snowstorm of the season.  Odd for Minnesota but it is Minnesota.     Students were gone and just a few teachers were still in the building.  I had hurried to get ready for student/parent conferences and was leaving when there was a loud pounding on my door.  I startled a bit worry about what was going on.  At the door was a fellow teacher with her hands cupped tightly.  When I opened the door she whispered, ” frog!”   “What” I said.  “FROG” was her response.

In her hand was a tiny little brown frog.   ” Where did it come from?” I wondered.    “I was watering the plants in the book room.  The big ones I brought in from my garden and he jumped into my hands.”   The next thing she said is ” I can’t kill him”.   So there we were late on a Wednesday night wondering what to do with a frog on the last day of February.  Did it just hatch?  Had it been living in her plants all school year?  Is this the first sign of spring?

It was decided we would put it in Danny’s (the teacher across the hall) large plant terrarium.  He would be safe for now and we would have time to find food, a new home for him,  maybe answers to some of our questions and most important we did not kill him!  Welcome to meteorological spring!

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, care for my Grandson and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of Life – I can’t Kill it!

  1. Ruth says:

    A perfect slice! I’m glad the frog is safe.
    Ruth

  2. MaryHelen says:

    What an adventure. Glad you were able to come up with a solution.

Leave a comment