Sitting in Silence

DSC04934.jpgIt is Tuesday and the day I write for the Slice of Life blog. A day each week that I write about the happenings and the thoughts in my life. But today I have avoided my computer all day. Writing seems to difficult at this time. I have avoided words. Today is a day of reflection.

I know that many times it is writing and words that help us to process the events we find hard to understand or accept. I know that writing can bring a release of the emotions that spin wildly in our heads and our souls.

That said today I have no words that I feel are appropriate to say –

  • Charlottesville
  • the President
  • the anger
  • the loss of life
  • the fear that builds in all our lives

It is all to much right now.

So what I can say is –clouds.JPG

Take time away from the screens, talk to your family and friends, reach out to those who are in the line of fire – and take time to be quiet and reflect.

What are the values we wish to bring forward in our country?

Once you know what is important to you – model those values for others, talk about them and help others in a loving and peaceful way!

 

About Joanne Toft

I am a retired Minneapolis Public School teacher. I walk, garden, help in schools and write. Life is good!
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sitting in Silence

  1. I think this is a time when we do need to reflect on our own values and beliefs and talk about those with others, I agree with you, if we all reflect and respect, maybe we can find ourselves again.

  2. arjeha says:

    What wonderful advice.

Leave a Reply

